Sunshine, lest forgotten, has its ways

sunshine__it__s_a_friend_of_mine__by_demonflame-d52u7f8

*Image found HERE

Sunshine, lest forgotten, has its ways

If I am a palace
wreathed in canaries
in some valley
full of yellow, conspiring trees,
oh for all that’s holy,
let me burn!

Who was he who never named
the shadowlands like me;
rubbed the hands in my ashes.
Instead, the bridges are just like
broken ribs of elephants,
the trains tick away
shedding their passengers.
If I am a palace wreathed in canaries,
in some valley,
let them slice me,
cut through my gorges
just like through cakes,
lay down the Sun upon the dead
like its peach cream.

Here I am,
doing my billionth lap
around the wound.
Here I am, eyeing my piece
And my hands are nervous;
Oh, let me catch fire!
Teach the yellow what’s red
And what is blue
And what is fettered in circles;
I am much better in smithereens,
Falling over someone’s coat.

But the choir of exhaust pipes
Screams in the morning,
Spits, at noon,
Stuffs its loud laughter
Into the early eve,
And once again everything smells
Like biscuits;
Yellowing, watery drabs
Contracting between the
Heart and head lines.
My canaries in a confectionary,
Bloated with ditties.

Rob them, of one, or two,
Or however you please,
Everything will shatter,
Spurt into the sunsets,
Like undergarments of the skyscrapers,
Yellow like rust,
Yellow like jealousy;
Everything taken without question.

Ask me, in Autumn,
And I will say how everything
Is alluring;
Even the swill of mackerel,
Squished in the can and oiled.
And everything that is dead
I write upon a stone;
And I wrote my name down at least
A thousand times
And I am bruising, like precious metal,
And I toss myself to the river,
Float among discarded leaves,
Yellow and tender and broken
At their seams
Like water can burn;
Like it can decompose

Like I am sterile, as a cloud,
Stripped , erased;
Doing my chores.
Dissipated, bored,
Gored
By thin tops of insolent pines;
Yellow, like a pear.

And still, I care,
Still I care!

~ by Oloriel on January 29, 2017.

23 Responses to “Sunshine, lest forgotten, has its ways”

  1. Filled with strange and fascinating imagery. It is an invitation to care. One bird at a time.

  2. Creativity at it’s finest 💜💛

  3. *its

  4. Oloriel, how are you? I hope you are well. Happy new year!

    I just wanted to point out that the colour is hard to read. It affects my eyes. I have to squint. And I feel pain in my eyes. Thanks.

  5. First of all, I love the title… and all the yellow flow that makes you care… it’s not far before we have the daylight back

  6. really, this is fantastic ~

  7. Your imagery inflicts inspiration to the senses and brings a world of your own creative land. Beautifully well written.

  8. fascinating surreal imagery…

  9. somehow reminded me of Salvador Dali’s painting The Elephants btw 🙂

  10. Gorgeous:

    “If I am a palace
    wreathed in canaries”

    “Here I am, eyeing my piece
    And my hands are nervous;
    Oh, let me catch fire!
    Teach the yellow what’s red
    And what is blue”

  11. The undulating imagery is perfect; how the yellows and reds and blues come together is enchanting.
    I loved how your words sound in my ears as I read them out loud. There is chaos in it and there is beauty in that chaos.
    Wonderfully wrought!

Tell me something

 
In~between

sketches of life and clips of dreams

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

That's What She Read

In which the weird girl reads and sometimes recommends.

Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Pentgrams and Candy Hearts

Pieced By HB

a curation of thoughts

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

TWYCKENHAM NOTES

poetry & art | South Bend, IN

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

