To my Goddess, with Love – re-share for Beltaine

~ ‘Beltaine’ – digital mixed media collage, done by me Mirjana M. , April 2019 ~

To my Goddess, with Love

I have knelt before the queen.

Unworthy of her flower

and her sin-washing dew.

With my head bowed

the plague spilled out of me.

I have taken in your offering,

my Celestial Mother,

hands ribboned, gifted outward,

I have consumed your omen.

I choked on your promise

and I vomited your words

into the hollow shell of my heart.

I believed,

when your epiphany reeked of delusion,

when I could no longer see

the pleasure that I sought

inside the pain you have gifted me.

I carried your burden on my sleeve,

like a medal, like a scale,

like a pedestal.

You would arise from the foam

in the early hours of the morning,

your dress a labyrinth of beauty,

unstained white

and you would be the static noise,

the lullaby of innocence,

the humming of the breeze

as I was fleeing so desperately

into sleep’s false comfort.

I have bled in your name and mine

entwined and gracefully,

I let you break me

and reassemble me into carnations

decorating dining tables,

perma red,

unguarded, fragile, vein.

I have knelt before you,

the splendor of Beltaine

coursing through my hair

like a wild stag;

and I have kissed your lilac beds

awaiting execution,

you disarmed me.

Poisonless,

darkness devoid,

I am white

as the cloud of your bosom.

What more do you want from me?

*you can find this poem in my first poetry collection “Colour Me In Cyanide & Cherries” It is also one of the first poems I shared when starting this writing space, almost a decade ago. The artwork and the words were inspired by Spring and Beltaine, which is my favourite holiday of the season.

Thank you for reading ❤



4 responses to “To my Goddess, with Love – re-share for Beltaine”

    1. Thank you; always lovely to revisit something that was written years ago, and still feel it ❤

    1. Blessed Be, Dear C. ❤

Tell me something

About Me

I don’t mind the sun sometimes,
the images it shows,
I can taste you on my lips
and feel you in my clothes.
Cinnamon and sugary
and softly spoken lies,
you never know just how you look
through other people’s eyes

Newsletter

Colour me in Cayenne & Chlorine Poetry Collection
Suburban Witchcraft Magazine
Colour me in Cyanide and Cherries Poetry Collection

Recent Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.