Around my World in a Tea Daze #5

Image

*Image found Here

It’s January. The weather is having serious mood swings, it reminds me of a teenage girl in a store not being able to decide between the red dress and the blue dress. And I, for some reason, cannot get that Garbage song “I’m only happy when it rains” out of my head.

We had busy time past few weeks, and the buzz is evergoing. I published the first issue of my magazine and am enjoying reading new submissions, as well as designing new pages. If you missed the magazine, here it is, give it a read and do tell me what you think πŸ™‚ The Tophat Raven Issue #1

If you have Facebook, you can come and be friends with us there as well. Even though I have one for years, it is a community I have not yet even began exploring, so you can help me there πŸ™‚ If you click on this pretty little tea, it will take you right to our page!

Image

If you are still thinking about submitting, do it! There is so many artists and writers here on WordPress I would love to feature, but I do not know if it would be weird if I started approaching people and asking them? Would I look too boring and unproffessional? You tell me! πŸ™‚

Other than the magazine, I have recently had the privilege of helping a writer and a friend with his book cover. His name is Tim Therien, and he just published an anthology of his work. I like to look at it like we did the cover together, I believe it is a huge and big deal in artistic growth to be truthfull to yourself and your desires and to show the world Yourself, not somebody else, so I was deligted that he chose to use a picture he made for the cover. So, without further delay, I present to you Liars, Hypocrites and the Development of Human Emotion! Download it and show Tim some love!

Image

I guess I am pretty boring for most individuals. All I ever do is talk about art, books, magazines, covers, artistic justice, quiting college ideas cause I wanna work in a soup kitchen not in a gourmet restaurant for the rich and the bored, this or that. I have a long bead string of people ditching me for any contact lately. I’m hard to be around with. Cmon, I don’t even drink coffee! So I don’t blame them, but I am still sad, because most people I would right now drink coffee with are all over the world and I never met them in person.

So I wonder, who is copying who – me the weather or weather me?

What are you up to? Tell me about your projects, books, whatever – let this be, at least for a day, your virtual coffee shop πŸ™‚

~ by Oloriel on January 19, 2014.

35 Responses to “Around my World in a Tea Daze #5”

  1. Hey,
    You are not a boring person. You have always the best of photographs and words to share.
    I somehow forgot to download the magazine. Now, I would.
    The weather is quite strange here as well. After days of radiant sunshine, the sky looks bleak and dreary now. I went to have a cup of coffee today to some new eating place and it was crappy.
    I am working on some assignments I have to submit by the end of this month and then, I would have to start studying for the April exams. I am already lagging behind. I don’t even know much about the syllabus yet.

    • We are having very strong wind today, so we are going to stay at home all day.
      It’s funny how whenever I hear the word exam, I miss school. exams are the only part I miss from it, I still hate even thinking of going there and sitting and just staring, wasting my time. At least the cooking uni is 90% practical work!
      I wish you good luck on your assignements and will keep my fingers crossed ro you at April for sure πŸ˜‰

  2. You know, I think many of us are in the same boat where our friends are concerned. We all live in separate countries and such! But think about it, how many of your friends are artists? I’m betting MANY. A steady 90% of all of my friends are artists: painters, photographers, sculptors, writers, musicians- the list goes on, but I really don’t associate with a lot of people who aren’t artists. It’s just who I’ve gravitated toward and vice versa. As you know, we artists can be a fickle group! We often go to our art to express our feelings so when we’re not creating our art, we might be catching a breath, etc. You’re one of the coolest people I know, O. 0) Again, congratz on the magazine! That is fantastic. I don’t think it’s awkward if you approach people for publishings, etc.; if anything, it tells people that you care about their work and that you’re on top of your game with publishing. We have to do the whole self-promo things as artists, you know? You’re going to have to be just as bold with your magazine: but hey, people respect that. πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, precisley!What I hate the most is the surroundings generalization. For example if I mention a friend at a family gathering that I happened to mention online, my family will go across universe to discredit it and it is just a Pissed off switch for me, cause there is nothing to defend there – they just spew shallowness and seem so limited in their reasoning. Everyone always pushes me into “real human relationshs”. What happens then> I get depressed. I am a giver, problem solver, ass whooping little bunny rabbit, but people I know make me feel like I am 12 again, and I am sobbing because my two “friends” invited everyone to their party except me. I get unanswered texts, belitered work and “it’s not you, its me”. I feel like that fries analogy, where a relationship that stops for whatever reason and gets started again feels like eating old fries warmed up in a microwave, while besides this I have torment inside myself because I genuinly love all these people, beyond limits. And they don’t give 2 squirts a piss about it. And they are all artists by the way, but my work is never welcome with them.
      See? I sound just like when I was a lil sad girl and it annoys the hell out of me! -_-

      • Something tells me Facebook might be involved in this somewhere. ;0) You know, there comes a time when it’s the healthiest thing to do to speak up and tell them what they’re doing to you. That this is how it makes you feel! You might think that you’re sticking a fire in a hornet’s nest, and you might be, but some fires NEED to be moved around or it can (and will) internalize instead and then consume YOU. You’re not to blame for other people: they’re not to blame for you! But- it’s necessary to tell them how they’re actions (and more so, their INactions) are effecting you. If they love you, they’ll want to hear you and work with you. “I love so and so” is one of the most abused, MISused words that ever were. People are quick to say they love this or that person, but when there’s a dispute, those same people will be the first in line to serve the others’ livers up on a family buffet table and be willing to play the host/ess, offering seconds, thirds, (and 50ths). Know what I mean? A lot of my ethics/laws/practices comes straight from the Bible- when something like this happens with me and a family member (or friend), I’ll take the matter straight to them and try to discuss it. If they won’t hear me, then I get away from that person FAST. Because, if you’re “at war” with somebody (or vice versa- same thing) and you take the matter to him or her and there’s no truce, then you can safely assume he or she will continue on in their war against you. In that case, I cut my ties. I give him or her space- sometimes a few weeks, sometimes years, but it’s the wiser thing to do if even momentarily, because the absolute outcome of there not being a truce, is more battle. It takes at least TWO people to battle (think of an actual battlefield) and so if you take yourself out of the equation, the war will cease, at least FOR YOU. :0)

        It’s painful, yes, but this is what I do and believe me, we have to pick our battles! I would rather battle myself in my conflicts, choices and feelings and actions -solo- than to be consistently strung up at the public gallows and burned at the stake by ‘that person” and all of his or her recruits.

        And, when said person starts talking like a fool at me, I’ll cut the strings- pronto. I consider this Scripture, which has helped me sooooo much over the years: “Go from the presence of a fool when thou perceivest not in him the lips of knowledge.” And so I do. I suggest you do too. ;0) xo

      • Yeah, Facebook does play it’s part. These people used to ignore me by making me feel bad about it, now I just know there is something wrong. It does suck tho, telling me “No time!” to even answer my message with a yes or a no, then being on Facebook for 5 hours, listening to music and chatting with everybody. You are completely right in what you wrote and said, this is a situation where I am supposed to turn around and walk away, erase the writing from the paper. I just wish I wasn’t so godamn sensitive!

      • I feel ya! For several years, I’ve wanted a few (family members) to simply acknowledge my emails in which I’ve said (repeatedly) that I love them. They never EVER returned the notion of “Hey, I love you too!”- Nada. Nothing. Cold- cold silence. Did I take it personally? Hell yeah! Because a person’s silence is still a message.

        So, I decided to serve them all a big helping of “just desserts”. I’ve had almost nothing to do with them for a good long spell now. Like, two years? And every year I hold myself hostage at family functions (by not going) because well…a person just gets tired of saying ‘love me back? Please?” So no more of that nonsense.

        You and I are so very much alike. So, I encourage you to not be angry with the “people”, but the “behaviors”- and the lack of love. Be angry at the lack of love and consideration! And then make a solid choice to separate yourself from people who cannot love you back (family or not). It’s a liberating, powerful gift you’re giving to yourself- LOVE. Love yourself enough to get away from selfish people. Love yourself with the love that they cannot give you. You DO have that, so if you fail to do that, you’re robbing yourself. It’s what we have to do in the end. BE STRONG. XO

  3. p.s. I’m digging the heart that’s floating on the surface of the tea! (See it?)

    • Yes, one of the reasons I picked this picture! It’s also my favourite tea, the ol’ Mr. Earl πŸ˜€

      • My favourite tea actually has pharmaceutical properties to it, But that’s a whole ‘nother story! I guess my favourite “slow-drinking enjoyable tea” would have to be spearmint + chamomile combined. Celestial Seasonings makes a great tea (Sleepytime Extra) with just a hint of Valerian in it. Really good stuff!)

  4. that’s a good song πŸ˜€

  5. The cover looks amazing! I am not on Facebook, but I am thinking of joining. If so I will definitely pop by for tea πŸ™‚

  6. You boring? I say “Hah!” to that. You’re awesome, plain and simple. I’ll see you on the FB. πŸ™‚

  7. Top Hat, Top hole! πŸ™‚

  8. Don’t be sad – life will change when you move over here – for however long you wish to stay – you will fall in love with Australia – you will be able to work in soup kitchens and have coffee and chat about your loves in life and hopefully you may be able to get to Melbourne and we will go out for coffee or dinner and chat about everything you love and I love. My projects – getting my daughter on track…looking after my ‘penguins’ – my parents. Writing to become a better writer and poet. You are not boring to be around lovely, you are one extremely talented individual and you should be proud and stand tall – truly (hugs) xx

    • Thank you for your kind words! Like I told you, having a chance to feet fellow bloggers who really grew into my heart is one of the few light rays I see in the moving.
      I wish you lots of sunshine in your life. My grandmother is getting terribly old and it will feel so bad leaving the country without her :/

      • Oh sweet – I know what you must be feeling… I do… you are 24 hours away… Think of the sunshine – the light rays that will envelop you ~ try not to think of the ‘what ifs’ you must live your life and do what you feel necessary. Hugs xx

  9. YOU my dear are far from boring!!!
    Sorry but I am still giggling at the weather metaphor with the teenage girl.
    RIDICULOUS – can’t decide what I am supposed to walk out the door in!

    • It is like that! Even today we had 20 minutes of bahamas sunshine, then 30 minutes of raind, then sunshine again…. blue dress, red dress, how bout gray? Nah, I think I’ll go for pink… or maybe red? Blue? I DON’T KNOW! πŸ˜€

      • —-my biggest issue is shoes – boots or sneakers?? and ofcourse coats – middle warmth? – rain proof ?- jersey underneath? – hat? – socks? – a darn it – same as yesterday then!
        Bizarre actually —– :/

  10. There’s a time-worn tradition of literary journals/magazines approaching individual writers to solicit work. It’s one way that publishers and editors are able to steer the voice of their publication. So go for it.

  11. Not a bit boring, beautifully artistic, and you belong in a gourmet restaurant, just kick out the rich ‘n bored.

    Interesting looking book by Tim. Damn, you’re so creatively busy, it’s BEAUTIFUL! πŸ™‚

    • I really like that idea of kicking out the rich and bored! πŸ˜€
      Tim’s book is awesome, you should definitely download it, you won’t be dissapointed πŸ˜€

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

PiΕ‘em ono Ε‘to mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

