To Helqualótë

Image

http://lavra.deviantart.com/art/Winter-flower-43965264

To Helqualótë

When I lay bare and worn
this mortal husk into the sheets,
I hear our voices as one;
the choir of our kin
laments for the homeland,
these hearts, ticking bombs
of a mechanical vessel,
without a choice but to
shed sympathy for the chain.

I reminisce in abbreviations
when our hands are apart,
the emerald resurfaces
and I remember
the day that you were born.

Your veins, pure lilac
stretched beneath the hum;
Your arms, like vines,
reached out to touch
the light of Nel’na,
Each age of lore
dripped down to you mouth,
like a gentle rain,
like tears of soothing,
to bless you and name you;
as you drank from our voices
you swore
to hunt down betrayers of Moon,
speaking words you did not yet
even know.

I look at you,
the innocent flame of my innocent flame
and you are so beautiful
that you heal me,
your purity like a furious tide
wipes out the residue of the coil,
you cry out, a lonely howl
through the silence of the night,
we are the lost and the fallen,
you are imprisoned
and I would slay, just to set you free

and hear again your laughter
among the free ones,
caressing the sleepless battle
while the Shades feast on me;
to see you running through the meadows
to greet me
as I return through the gates
to embrace you once more.

I know,
sometimes the glow of the lighthouse
through the engulfing mist
seems so scarce and so weak;
I know,
that to deny the sweet voice of doom
you must partake on the fruit
or claw at your own face;
I know,
how the warmth of the dirt
beckons to defrost you
and bite at your soft mortal flesh.

When we plummeted to this junkyard
the scars dug in much more deeper
then this skin, this cheap cloth
of immorality
and your petals inured in alabaster,
just as mine cried out blood;
Feel me, as I curse the daybreak
and burn through the lie
and know
that you are Loved.
My Helqualótë,
my winter flower,
you bloom.

~Happy birthday, Hel ❤

bella silk



27 responses to “To Helqualótë”

  1. Oloriel, another gorgeous lyrical piece. So many beautiful bits here:
    “.. to shed the sympathy of the chain”
    “I reminisce in abbreviations…”
    “… the warmth of the dirt beckons to defrost you…”

    Gorgeous!

    1. Thank you very much for taking the time over and over again to listen to the song of my words, it really means a lot to me! 🙂

      1. Oloriel, thank you for such beauty!

  2. it was by coincidence that I got here to this blog. The tag word “despair”. This poem is sublime, throbbing with feeling. good work. 🙂

    1. Thank you very much for your words. One might wonder why the tag “despair”, but this place is not my home and at times I gotta show it. I read your words upon yourself on your blog and they read so painfully familiar. I am most glad you visited and gave me a chance to find you and read you 🙂

  3. I was thinking of her while reading poem, u did great job 🙂
    and in the end, I was like, yeah, I`m right, it is about her 😀

    1. Well, for you,the title kinda gives it away right away 😛
      Speak Truth today and Love, in her name 🙂

  4. i’m #speechless# 🙂

    1. Thank you very much for your kind words!

  5. Oloriel, these words are achingly beautiful, all of them. i keep coming back to this, keep reading it over and over…

    I look at you,
    the innocent flame of my innocent flame
    and you are so beautiful
    that you heal me,
    your purity like a furious tide
    wipes out the residue of the coil,
    you cry out, a lonely howl
    through the silence of the night,
    we are the lost and the fallen,
    you are imprisoned
    and I would slay, just to set you free

    i will tell you, this how i feel when i look at my daughter,
    ty so much for this

    1. Thank you very much for your continuos support and I am happy that you recognised these words of the older to the younger kin 🙂 Your daughter is one lucky lady for having you as hers.

  6. Always a beautiful mystery. Thank you.

    1. Thank you, for taking time to leave me a word of your own 🙂

  7. This is simply magical! Amazing work once again, Oloriel. ❤

    1. Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it ❤

  8. Incredible, your poetry always leaves me feeling like I have been spoken to by an artist who paints with words. Kind regards from Baldy 🙂

    1. Know that I am always beyond happy to hear from you. I have watched you reading and I want you to know that you will forever be amongst the most inspiring souls in my book 🙂 Thank you for your visit!

  9. Your new posts dont come up on my reader 😦

    1. It is a problem I have at times, the reader is just so buggy. You can try un-following and re-following me, that sorts the problem in most cases 🙂

  10. So eloquent. You have a beautiful poetic voice.

    1. Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad you enjoyed it

  11. That was a beautiful piece O.
    Felicia

    1. Thank you very much for your words, I am glad you enjoyed it!

  12. I just read this again… Love these line:
    “Your veins, pure lilac
    stretched beneath the hum;”
    xox

    1. Thank you for your words, I am most glad you enjoyed it ❤

  13. A amazing tale in the poem. Myth and old story is my favorite. You had both. Thank you for the outstanding poetry.

    1. I am glad you have enjoyed the journey, thank you!

Tell me something

About Me

I don’t mind the sun sometimes,
the images it shows,
I can taste you on my lips
and feel you in my clothes.
Cinnamon and sugary
and softly spoken lies,
you never know just how you look
through other people’s eyes

Newsletter

Colour me in Cayenne & Chlorine Poetry Collection
Suburban Witchcraft Magazine
Colour me in Cyanide and Cherries Poetry Collection

Recent Comments

  1. Ово плаво-бело-зелено ми изгледа као да си канула две различите боје на микроскопску плочицу, ставила медијум за монтирање (густа провидна…

Blog at WordPress.com.