Love like Trees – Flash Fiction

make-that-garden-grow_thumb
Beatrice, daughter, listen! Some folk will come and tell you how love grows glorious gardens with sky-piercing trees!
I will tell you it gives spondylosis.

Done for the Flash Splash challenge at Mindlovemisery’s Menageries. This is my first time trying to write a piece of flash fiction. Everyone knows i struggle with any form of writing with a word count, and even more small word count! So, this is my 25 words offering, inspired by the picture you can see at the top. Not exactly telling a story, but I always take the abstract approach!

~ by Oloriel on January 7, 2017.

22 Responses to “Love like Trees – Flash Fiction”

  1. For some one shy and hesitant, you have done a wonderful job of presenting a piece of micro-flash.
    You have told a story, and told it well.
    I hope now you have clicked published, you will do so again.
    An excellent job — first time or hundredth time.
    I am so glad you decided to play in the flash playground.
    Hope there is another play date.

  2. Love the contrasts. Like the sky and soil coming together. Maybe it’s not either or but both.

  3. I had to look up what spondylosis was…when I found out I had a wry laugh.

  4. and you do the abstract approach so very well. 🙂

  5. You did well ❤️💚

  6. All folks love the gardens they don’t have to work at…

  7. Ah this is great. I can never write something so short but this is really well done, and humorous. Cool.

    • Trust me, it was a colossal challenge. Your flashes are among the few I really like and admire, they represent what I want to write. I just can never get the hang of it, I have a huge need to yap and yap and yap.
      Thank you very much reading!

      • I used to write very long winded stories and then I read a quote by Vonnegut (I think) where (I’m paraphrasing) he said to make every word count and that if the story can go on without a word, delete it. He also said this isn’t a truth but just a suggestion but I took it quite to heart and went back through my stories with a machete and found that I enjoyed what laid underneath.

      • I will have to try that someday, when I am ready.
        I often feel like, still, writing is my only plane of existence where I can speak, freely, whats on my mind, without accounting for anyone or anything, i can lie, tell a blunt truth and I can take as long as I want to.
        I don’t think I am a proper writer yet because I have not reached that state of “manipulation” so to say.
        But I think I will, some day!
        Thank you for sharing the quote with me!

  8. This moved me!

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

