Headlines

nature

*Image found HERE
Headlines

Departed, I am well,
still full of secrets
like spring is virginal, cruel
to the dandelion;
it promises
then leaves with head in pocket.
Your bones still love potions.
World still ill,
our lips still unholy,
curling river’s
unremembered names.
Departed, all is same.

 

*Written for Quadrille prompt at dVerse, hosted by Bjorn. My first Quadrille ever, so naturally I think it is horrid.  I am however really happy I managed to take the challenge. About the poem, it is a nod to one of my all-time favourite poets A. E. Housman.

~ by Oloriel on January 3, 2017.

43 Responses to “Headlines”

  1. Loved it especially the dandelion line.

    • Thank you, Richard! I am glad someone else likes them.
      Even though it is Winter, I am happy I can still see their yellow heads, here and there and everywhere I go.

  2. This is so far from horrid as it can be… a wonderful write, I love how you have used the word curl here… So glad you could participate.

  3. This really flows and I love that dandelion line too and ‘then leaves with head in pocket’. A lovely write ☺

  4. Bleak, and intriguing. Dandelions are much under-rated.

  5. From that perspective, yes all is same ~ These are my favorite lines:

    our lips still unholy,
    curling river’s
    unremembered names.
    Departed, all is same.

    • Thank you very much for reading!
      I am wondering daily what did we change?> What is better, what is worse, what remained the same, since, for example, my great great grandfather died.

  6. Oh, my, this is beautiful. Goodness.

  7. I liked the phrase “our lips still unholy”.

    • Thank you! Somehow I think lips are hardly ever seen as anything but unholy. It is a debate with myself is that good or bad though. You never know! 🙂

  8. it promises
    then leaves with head in pocket….wow that’s stark..so nicely done.

  9. Dark and eerie–I like that. Strong and tight 44. Well done!

  10. I liked this. A different take on the prompt I haven’t read. Good job. Keep writing.

  11. The love potions line–all wonderful.

  12. “Your bones still love potions.
    World still ill,
    our lips still unholy,
    curling river’s
    unremembered names.”

    I love that section.

  13. interesting perspective, to write to “Departed” and describe how the world is now. Nicely done

    • Thank you! I realize that because of punctuation and flow, one might think I am describing the world as departed. I was just carried away in thinking of how much things changed, or did not, since some people left this world.
      Thank you very much for reading and taking time to leave me a word of your own! Have a wonderful day!

  14. This is lovely! I love the images –dandelions and curling rivers.

  15. love the gloomy imagery… the rivers are especially intriguing… there is this saying, you cannot step into the same river twice, because everything flows and changes… yet at the same time – all is same… beautiful, Mirjana…

    • Oh, thank you so much for sharing the river tale with me! I love hearing stories like that!
      You also now made me think of Bruce Lee and his “Be like Water”
      I hope the snow is staying longer there!

  16. This doesn’t seen like a first time to you!! No way. This is far from horrid. I love every line and how they connive to create a reflective thought. ❤

  17. Beautifully haunting!!❤️

  18. Not horrid; gorgeous!

    I love Housman too.

    • Thank you very much! This is honestly the first time I hear I like Housman as well. May I bother you a bit? What is your favourite piece by him?Need a friend to talk to when nobody else but Housman will do to describe your thoughts on the world? 😀

  19. Reblogged this on Secret First Draft: Member of the Sudden Denouement Literary Collective and commented:
    Oloriel/Color me in Cyanide and Cherry

  20. Lovely piece!

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

