A Pocket Full of Poesies – A Review

2016-08-05-18-27-37

“A Pocket Full of Poesies” is a poetry book by a writer and dear friend, T. J. Therien, and I had the honor of receiving a promotional copy of it, with a delightful message inside.

This poetry book is very gentle and accessible. It is a book of love poems, but for me, it is different than love poetry books I encountered before.

More often than not, love tends to be over complicated in books, especially poetry books. There is hours and hours of narrative, where I get the feelings the emotions are not honestly described. I feel like I am simply being told what I want to hear or what the writer has been told to write to appear more sweet. This is not a book like that!

Tim’s love poems feel simply very real, very explosive, and very relate-able.And relate-able to the good parts, not just the sorrow, pain and aftermath present after our lovers leave us.  I think it is commendable that he manages to convey feelings with the simplicity of the lines yet at the same time, you can find poetry forms that I personally find hard to tackle, cushioned inside the verses. They are often unnoticeable, because the poems are not overburdening and they flow really well. 

This is what I especially like about these poems. Although someone may come and describe them as cheesy or similar attribute, I find them to be important because they remind me not to recollect or live in the past, but love, love freely, this instant, NOW!

This book is very accessible to all, and I like that about it, because I showed it to my father (who really dislikes reading!) and he read a few poems. What you could notice is that he had a smile on his face upon reading, and this is very important to me. I WANT to read and buy books I do not only have to share with a certain few, but I can freely enjoy with my family and perhaps encourage them to read more.

Another important thing to point out is why this book stands out among countless more. The writer has made this book from scratch, by himself. He assembled, printed, bound, decorated. Every step , every page of this book is a glimpse not only into the dedication and love he puts into the craft of writing, but also inside of his soul. In my hand, with “A Pocket Full of Poesies”, I hold a genuine, home-made product and it just feels special, knowing the writer is not afraid to have this approach and this openness with everyone around him. It simply makes him stand out, and it makes me more interested in what he has to say.

If you would like to read “A Pocket Full of Poesies” you can check the book out at the following link:

https://www.amazon.com/Pocket-Full-Poesies-T-Therien-ebook/dp/B01L5R4T12

You can also, and I recommend this, connect with the writer, Tim Therien himself, at the following pages:

http://tjtherien.wordpress.com/

~ by Oloriel on October 30, 2016.

10 Responses to “A Pocket Full of Poesies – A Review”

  1. Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere.

  2. you echo many of my own thoughts about it

  3. Reblogged this on Inside The Poet's Mind.

  4. Thank you so very much. I got all misty-eyed as I read this beautiful review of Poesies.

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

I'm sorry, I didn't hear what you said because I was talking

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

