Undressing of Autumn

lady_autumn

*Image found HERE

Undressing of Autumn

In the magpie hour
I am myself,
when screeches are hymns,
an orchestra in a pocketful of train tickets;
myself thinks I must belong
in the chorus of gold,
wrapping the poplars,
the palms growing candied corn,
glazing the wounds with sugar-
daughters of the Sun,
pale roses atop a stillborn pedigree,
the creed of a birdcage.
The ruins build Light
in the dusk, the church bells are ringing
and there is demand for love.

I count those who left,
I pull black ink
across the squares of the calendars,
yellow like curves
neither sweet nor sour,
red like lipstick on a graveyard,
unawares squares, slurping bleak faces,
bleeding macchiato;
sometimes I cut, sometimes I butcher.

The pearls hang low on heaven’s ceilings,
those wombs of sweet nothings
inert above the velvet nightmares;
patterns of our hands
teaching the river to words.
They do not suspend for myself,
they do not adorn
a guttersnipe, myself
who brawls against the simple lie of innocence;
my father, the flotsam king,
turns living rooms to dead forests
that worship beauty with teeth;
like me.

Our hearts are ours, but our hours
are for birds,
our grave is old but feathery and soft
and we never sleep,
we demand and decipher
and October is sometimes red
like the cheeks of a sorrow-eater,
well-meaning suburban girl,
sometimes brown
like the wet dirt
of abandoned gardens,
The wind
sings with the fallen,
the lungs are swollen from the cities
that we swallowed,
The matriarch
eternally ripe
unzips at the back
to shed a rain of oranges;
The Moon
a Crow’s mile,
my soul and the darkness
meeting half way.

*Inspired by Wordle at Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie.

~ by Oloriel on October 9, 2016.

8 Responses to “Undressing of Autumn”

  1. Reblogged this on The Militant Negro™.

  2. Reblogged this on The Hiding World.

  3. This is truly wonderful.. i could not guess that it was based on a wordle… seamless.. as usual you use contrasts so well, the darkness and light, bloodfilled death.. yes this was a captivating read

    • Thank you very much, Bjorn!
      I really love the Wordle prompts, because they help me kickstart the finishing of poems I have laying around in my head or on my desktop for a long time. Like a puzzle missing a piece, they just fit right in.
      Thank you very much for reading!

  4. While reading this I had an image of recent trip to NS, and this was written way before that…

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

