Suburban Witchcraft – ReEvolution

Omens

As some of you know, last year I started a photography project which I titled “Suburban Witchcraft”.

The purpose of this project for me was to get me to take more photos of what I want, what inspires me, and sharing them freely, without much words or anything, throwing them out there into cyberspace with the intention for them to inspire or instigate creation, if someone happens to embark upon them.

I was constantly torn between where to put the photos, what to do with them, that’s one too many a cloud photo, arrange them more seriously, no, not like that, surprise, surprise, again clouds except now they are pink, use your husband’s camera, you zoomed in too much, this does not look serious, find a studio, build a studio, become a model, bother friends to be your models and so on and so forth – which made me realise it was precisely what I did not want to do with this project.

I wanted to snap shots freely and in a way that helps me discover myself, abridge within my soul my questions of why I am who I am, why I live where I live, why do I not want to go, why do always repetitive motives captivate me. I wanted to challenge myself, better myself and most of all, express myself, in my own weird way, including my other passions and weaving them through this project. I wanted freedom from the subconsciously imposed duty to always want and need better equipment, better creativity. I wanted to notice, I wanted to preserve. I want to treat every form of art, I want to treat the act of living the same way I treat my writing.

This is why I have decided to make the “Suburban Witchcraft” blog to be open for submissions.

I imagine it as an entirely chaotic e-zine. I do know the name can be misleading and controversial, off putting as well.I personally both love and detest, fear and adore suburbia. It puzzles me, it makes my bones shiver. Witchcraft is such an explosive word. A forbidden word, often miscalculated, often connected to insulting terms where I wish it represented life: its shadows and its shimmers we all daily struggle to decipher. But I like it. Suburban Witchcraft is a sanctuary for my love and pain.

You can check the blog here:

https://suburbanwitchcraft.wordpress.com/

If you would like me to show some of your own work, I made a really simple submission info and I will take submissions any time and all the time. Submissions should be centered around the suburbs, or you should create them in the suburbs; they can also allude to this mysterious aura the suburbs seem to have. I made it this way so nobody has to feel excluded, but also to get a glimpse of that part of your soul that we tend to hide in the vast squares of big cities. Send me something! 

I would also want to use this cyberspace to let your already existing creations find a new pocket full of open minded, quirky and creative audience. You can show me your books, paintings, what you cook, listen to when you are riding through the creases of wisteria dresses. And I am also planning a whole lot more of stuff to hopefully get creativity and inspiration sprouting and bursting.

Thank you for reading this terribly long post, and see you in the suburbs!(and prepare to see a lot of clouds!)

 

~ by Oloriel on May 26, 2016.

4 Responses to “Suburban Witchcraft – ReEvolution”

  1. 🙂

  2. soooooo awesome ♥ I’m heading now to see your photoblog…

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

