Quiet Sleep

soft whispers in a quiet room

*Image found HERE

*Originally written in Serbian, and the original is below.

Quiet Sleep

 

A word

as an ember

in the womb

of a censer.

 

Us

as flame,

red,

enamored,

swallowing forests.

 

Rain

as murmur

of sideways,

tambours

of the Milky Way

in the eyes of a child.

 

A word

as a drop

of a broken faucet,

A verse

as a guggle

of grids

before the storm.

 

Us

as birds.

Us

at two in the morning,

as nobody’s.

*This was one of those short, spur poems that I found hard to express in English. It happens, albeit rarely, that some of these thought demand themselves unheard and I wrestle them through foreign languages!

***

Tišina sna

Rec
kao žar
u utrobi
kandila.

Mi
kao plamen,
crveno,
zaljubljeno,
gutanje šume.

Kiša
kao zagor
stranputica,
tambure
kumove slame
u očima deteta.

Reč
kao kap
iz pokvarene slavine,
stih
kao klokot
rešetki
pred oluju.

Mi
kao ptice.
Mi
u dva ujutru,
kao ničiji.

 

~ by Oloriel on May 19, 2016.

13 Responses to “Quiet Sleep”

  1. I have tried a few times to write in Swedish and then translating.. it’s so interesting that my translated voice comes out so different… usually softer and more mellow… I actually read a different voice in yours as well…

    • Yes, I believe this is even a common thing they are trying to research scientifically. Recently, I have even read and heard at various places that we have different personalities for each language that we speak. I try it, sort of, and it sounds true. I think I often times, against my will or any plan, sound more connected and personal on Serbian. This is something my best friend who reads everything I write commented upon. he says “When you write in Serbian, I see you. When you write in English, it is still you, but somehow, cruelly distant.”. I would love to read some of your Swedish writing, don’t ever fear from pointing me to a piece. I wonder, like for the NaPoWriMo last day experiment, what message would I get from unknown words.

  2. oh, I love the Serbian version… 🙂 you know, most of the words I can understand easy and it has a special melody, which I enjoy… lovely work, Mirjana 🙂

    • Thank you! I think Serbian and Bulgarian are pretty similar, even my husband says that for example Bulgarian is similar to Turkish, often times more than Serbian. I would love to do a poetic experiment one day and mix all 3 languages and see what it weaves into! 🙂

      • Bulgarian and Serbian sound similar to me too, at least I understand Serbian when I’ve visited the country a couple of times and everyone there understood me 🙂 Turkish is quite different though, I don’t understand a word of that… there are only a few Turkish words borrowed that I guess have stayed in the language back from Ottoman times, but we use them mostly in very colloquial conversations, jokingly, and are not acceptable in a more formal dialogue 🙂

        I’m sure you will come up with quite a fascinating poetic experiment, if you decide on it one day 🙂

  3. Very beautiful. I don’t read Serbian, but the translation sounds perfect to me. ☆☆☆

  4. Greetings from the United States (A little place called Kentucky). I loved the poem.

    Tim

  5. Now, this one I like very much, simple, paints big image with just few words and you can feel it, understand, like that spur of the moment, it is clear 🙂

Tell me something

 
In~between

sketches of life and clips of dreams

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

That's What She Read

In which the weird girl reads and sometimes recommends.

Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Pentgrams and Candy Hearts

Pieced By HB

a curation of thoughts

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

TWYCKENHAM NOTES

poetry & art | South Bend, IN

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

