Thine Name On Un-important Papers

library_by_daroz

*Image found HERE

 

Thine Name On Un-important Papers

The power of the written word
commands the stray cat not to touch the milk.
You watch over the water levels,
thirteen witch doctors with their breasts perched below,
pulling the trapezoid outwards into a bruised bush of hydrangea.
It is written, somewhere;
someone weeps quietly, forever,
remembering our promises broken in half like waffles.
He is a She and She is an Ocean,
the Ocean is the laryngitis in a crowded auction house,
around noon, over mellow coffee.

The force of my vein wilts in the leap,
dozens are written, the sky calculated,
lettering quartered into poetry
for the dark to whisper wet,
slamming his head on the glass of the lantern.
The dug-out hemlock struggles to fall asleep
inside the frozen eye
of the prodigal saint;
the one who twirls his fingers inside the apricot jam,
sticks us two by two, by two and three, and five
into hostels, alehouses and post offices
and writes down nothing.
Zilch of the hare coat, barley porridge,
orphaned stone, nothing
of my wish to glue the fallen leaves
onto the clouds.

I am, like that, in the silence.
A Tsar of nettle absorbs
the fearless utterance of my heart.
And the river runs clueless,
like joy, with a red bow in its hair,
gently the wind bites the yarrow.
We are waiting to be written down.

*Written for last day, day 30 of NaPoWriMo. I stuck to the suggestion literally and give you my twisted interpretation of the suggested Wislawa poem. I read her poetry in translation before on English and Serbian, so I tried to give it my interpretation quite distantly from my preconceived emotion her poetry brings.

This was my first year attempting NaPoWriMo, and I had a blast. I discovered many new bloggers, and I read lots of amazing poetry, which I will continue reading. I did not manage to write every day in April and post, for which I feel bad and sad, but I am happy with what I achieved as well. I will definitely come back to some of the prompts and participate next year again.

~ by Oloriel on April 30, 2016.

12 Responses to “Thine Name On Un-important Papers”

  1. Brilliant!!

  2. Powerful, evocative, very well done.

  3. Breathtaking and intricate thoughts on life.

  4. “fearless utterance of my heart” ♥ to wear your heart on your sleeve is fearless indeed…

  5. I like it how its not you, but still is you…
    Counting and changing forms, shapes and images…from associations unrelated, love it 😀

  6. The title is beautiful just like the beginning.
    Your images create an atmosphere of pain and beauty. “The force of my vein wilts in the leap,/dozens are written, the sky calculated,/lettering quartered into poetry”: Wow!

    We are indeed waiting to be written down.

    • And I do believe, thought don’t ask me about it often, we will indeed be written down, and remembered!
      Hope you are well, my friend!

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

