My Morena

mi_morena_by_n4u2k

*Image found HERE

My Morena

My morena,
maker of malady menageries,
meticulous mollusk, mist mannered
marinating mirrors.
Meandering meadows, mimicking
Metatron milking marigold mornings.
Murmuring mills, my melancholic mongrel,
mending minstrels – moaning marrow.
My measly minnow – mapled, married manufacturer,
maker, mild master, marshal.
Moon man made manifest – madman mourned.
Macadam maroon, misunderstood,
mermaid market monsoon,
Mortar monastery, methyl mall,
malva moschata molecule monarch;
Mutiny, mass, mimicry, mask,
merry machine
mistakenly muffling
more, more, more.

*For NaPoWriMo day 17, off prompt. The prompt asked for using a specific dictionary and I have none around at the moment, nor did I have enough time to browse one online, hence why I did the writing in my own way. For days I wanted to try writing a poem where each word begins with the same letter, and this seemed like a good opportunity. I did use a regular dictionary to boost my inspiration, which was advised not to! *Morena means ‘love’ ๐Ÿ™‚

~ by Oloriel on April 17, 2016.

32 Responses to “My Morena”

  1. i can’t believe you wrote an entire poem out of words starting with m! (and the rogue of) this is truly alliteration taken to an extreme and i love it. the constant repetition of sounds makes this piece incredibly entertaining to read and adds a whimsical feel to it overall.

    • Thank you! The biggest challenge with this was to make any sort of sense and produce images that are not over-burdening – and I have proudly failed at both ๐Ÿ˜€

      • honestly though, i think the senseless absurdity of it is poetry in itself! sometimes words in and of themselves are more than enough to evoke emotion, be it sadness or amusement.

  2. Aha this turned out really well.:)

  3. muahahahaha. well, it begins with M, anyways, and I must admit to being partial thereto… ~ M

    • I hope you found some M combo here that you can snag for yourself ๐Ÿ˜€ I was thinking what letter should I do, but my own name simply beckoned to choose M.
      Thank you for reading!

  4. Very nice, impressive to use just one letter… I once wrote a poem with only one wovel

    • Thank you, Bjorn! I must try the one wovel thing as well, some day, thanks for the idea! These are the kind of challenges I find quite enjoyable and educational.

  5. mmmmm!
    “Milking marigold mournings”
    Magical Mantra!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Oh my such an enjoyable read! I loved the sound that I read it twice! hahaha

    • Thank you very much for your comment, I must agree that poems crafted in this manner do tend to have some symphony in them, different from others.

  7. Moonshadowish.

    • If wishes were horses, then beggars would ride,
      over sea land and ocean
      on the wings of their pride ๐Ÿ™‚
      Mislim da su ove mesecarske zelje bolje ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Very well done. I will have to try this one day.

  9. Much more than a mishmash of mercurial meanderings! Meaningful, mystical, macabre- masterful. May many more magical melodies mend melancholic moods and maladies! ;0)

    • Many muahs, your comment made my day and you did this M weaving much better than I did ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Haha…that M stuff is NOT easy!

      • I have been slacking for days with telling you something, but buckle up, it’s absolutely looney-cahooney. I was having a nightmare about 4 days ago, can’t recall what was it (had a plenty since then), and I woke up in the middle of the night after it and went to the toilet. I was doing the toilet business and I don’t know, for some reason I was thinking of you (this is not the crazy part, I swear!) and all of a sudden I swear I could see an old man next to me telling me I should tell you you should write a cookbook. I don’t know if all of this actually happened or I dreamed of that as well, but I feel bad for not fulfilling that man’s request.
        He looked like a symphatetic old man, a mixture of a military man, with his posture always like he is observing his lined up squadron and a forever, jokester child. Yep, this was the crazy part!

      • Wowwww…..that is super duper crazy…and funny as hell…haha…I’m betting he was drunk because the last thing I could see me writing is a cookbook! Too funny. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • To be honest, I think you could conquer and master whatever you set your mind too, really! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Excellent…my more-oloriel! xo

    • Thank you! I swear, this method of writing is so infectious and so inspiring, I was mind-stuck for days just going through m words, nouns, verbs, adjectives ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Well, I can believe that & send you many mmmmmmmm’s which are code for xxxxxxxx’s ๐Ÿ˜€

      • And a thousand kisses to you!
        Pardon me, my husband says I am a lamer regarding those text-message style greetings, he sent me once xoxo and I was deeply worried about his state of being (until he told me it is him sending me love ๐Ÿ˜€ ), only after that I began to use it XD

      • CUTE! lol! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. this is like Music, very Melodic verse, Mirjana โ™ฅ

    • Thank you, I do hope I have not infect you with the M wordings, but if I did, I bet you would weave an amazing melody! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. It feels like a tongue twister, kids tales, its fun, whimsical and yet painted with some dark tones, they give depth and melody and I love it! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Don’t even get it how you pulled it off to have meaning only using words starting with M ๐Ÿ™‚

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Piลกem ono ลกto mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

