A Portrait In Which I Have Five Hearts

family_by_bennybrand-d3jn9do

*Image found HERE

A Portrait In Which I Have Five Hearts
You are the cauldron
in which I cook my love:
paleness, bones and moonlight
tossed into the fire,
learning the secrets of the dawn.
I listen to you mumble
Delirious nonsense through the night,
waiting to become your river.
I’d follow you to Hell,
Because Hell with you is Holy
(even though you’d constantly complain
how it’s too hot)
I love you from the bottom of my soul
to endlessly up.

*

You are a vanilla ice-cream
under the rain,
You are the playfulness of the ocean,
the tenderness of its waves,
all the azure of the sky,
a walking, talking strawberry tart.
You are the sunshine boy
the dandelion king
with a million names –
they all mean my heart.
*

You are the boy whose hair
was tinted by night’s strings,
Some god’s forgotten violin, you weave
symphonies for this writhing realm.
You, a crossroad between
summer and spring,
you thump and march,
just like my heart bursts,
would even tear the Moon down
from the sky,
just to see you smile.
*

You are my poinsettia,
sad to be in a suburban sour vineyard,
sprouting pink for no-one, someone, anyone.
My velvet harlot, devourer of worlds,
cloud-catching partner in crime.
In a tiny room beneath the ocean
I have found your wings
and I never returned them to you.
You don’t need them.
You are a dreamer in the wrong, wide world,
I love you, you are the butterfly pinned to my lungs.

*

You are the song of my undoing,
a little girl on the rocks,
I’m so sorry you were never born a fox,
nor tortoise, nor hare, nor a sparrow,
even though it is one of your names,
you are the one who dances, while I wallow.
You are the one who prances, while I wither.
You are sorrow – poison in a little bottle,
big dreams in a slaughterhouse,
I’m so sorry you were not born a mouse,
or a bear, or the prettiest candid apple
on the faire.
You are a carnation, I am carnage,
you are the ark made from my salvage,
you are raw, untainted, kind, candid;
I’m so sorry I was grown a bandit.
One day I’ll be worth enough
to love you.

*Written for NaPoWriMo Day 2 prompt, and posted fashionably late. Hope you enjoy reading. Are you doing NaPoWriMo as well? I would love to know and bask in your poetic efforts, just drop me a line to where I can read your poems!

~ by Oloriel on April 4, 2016.

30 Responses to “A Portrait In Which I Have Five Hearts”

  1. This is splendid in its contrasts… how you weave the passion that undulate between love and loathing… just like real love is.. You know I know bright colors in poems.

  2. A fabulous poem, Oloriel! I feel you could have written this, inspired by your son in as much as anyone else, including yourself. Well done, a mystery of poetry! Resa xx

  3. […] 1. The Ballad of Maria Makilingladyleemanila 2. Ballad – Simply Poetry 3. glass / 2 – grapeling 4. NaMoWriPo – A to Z Challenge (B) – April 2, 2016Bastet and Sekhmet’s Library 5. A FAMILY WITHOUT NUMBER – FAITH UNLOCKED 6. Family/Harmonic – Graceful Press Poetry 7. DIVERSIFY – 1st Non-Manuscript – Charlene Delfin’s second blog 8. Family Portrait – Promptly Written 9. Family Portrait – Gene’s Musings 10. DAY 2 – NAPOWRIMO 2016 – KIANA DONAE 11. My Life – Doodles and Scribbles 12. He Said a Thing Once – MARILYN CAVICCHIA 13. Betrayal – Verily Victoria Vocalises 14. NaPoWriMo Day 2 – arakawa fiction 15. A Picture’s True Worth – RIVRVLOGR 16. Composite Family – WRITING ROCHDALE 17. #NationalPoetryMonth’16 Round-up (Day 2) – Bonespark ~ Lighting the Fire…Write Hot!!! 18. NAPOWRIMO DAY 2 – SQUARE PEGS, ROUND HOLES – QUEST FOR WHIRLED PEAS 19. Family portrait – Marny Sensation 20. Thanksgiving – Hosking’s Blog 21. NATIONAL POETRY WRITING MONTH 2016, DAY #2 – ORDINARY AVERAGE THOUGHTS 22. NaPoWriMo: Family Portrait – Edwina’s Episodes 23. Family Portrait – Susan’s Poetry 24. The Tree of Life – The Product Poet 25. NaPoWriMo: Day 2 – Family Portrait – Poetess In Progress 26. 2016 DAY 2 – PICTURE THIS – Flutterby’s NaPoWriMo 27. NaPoWriMo 2016 Entry #2 – Welcome to Sojourn! 28. SIBLING REVELRY – THROUGH THE EYES OF A POET’S HEART 29. Mother – tea parties on neptune 30. #APRPAD: DAY 2 – SO IT WAS SAID – TWO VOICES, ONE SONG 31. B is for Blossoms – thoughts and entanglements 32. Day Two NaPoWriMo – ORIENTATION::QUILTER 33. April Showers Bring May Flowers: NaPoWriMo Day 2 – Closed Captioned For The Thinking Impaired 34. GloPoWriMo: April 2nd – this. and other poems 35. Portrait of the Nation, Circa 2016 – kavyastream 36. an acrostic family portrait – inktuition 37. wisp – GRACE BLACK WRITES 38. So Sweet – Poetry Ponderings 39. PORTRAIT – THE INKWELL 40. Circa 1982 – Lylanne Musselman 41. NATIONAL POETRY MONTH- FAMILY PORTRAITS – The Audacity of Her 42. NaPoWriMo Day 2: Family Portrait – Yoga Mom 43. Familial – LILLIAN THE HOME POET 44. A Cliché – Summer Blues – A Poetry Blog 45. Poem 20160402 – Caw! The stuff that comes out a bird’s mouth. 46. “Headmates as Family” – DREAMWRITER’S DREAMING 47. FAMILY PORTRAIT – THE RAVEN’S EYE – POETRY AND OTHER MUSINGS 48. The Family Tao of Pooh – Whimsygizmo’s Blog 49. Medusa Smile – Some Experience Required 50. Family Portraits – lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown 51. FAMILY – LEONAS LINES – POETRY PLUS 52. Rainbow Roof: A French Cinquain – A READING WRITER 53. Dreaming Forward ~ a poem for my twins – A MOONSKITTLES 54. portrait – Hey Look, I Wrote A Thing! 55. NaPoWriMo Day 2 – COTTAGE COUNTRY REFLECTIONS 56. Grandpa’s Congregation – between the lines 57. You know – Unassorted stories 58. #NaPoWriMo 2016 Challenge – Day 2 – Words across the Oceans 59. My Family – A Non-Portrait – STRANGELANDER2015 60. Renewal – thoughts and entanglements 61. Family Portrait – J Luukkonen Poetry 62. Brainwashed – cherrytales 63. Storm Chasers – SCIENCE AC – THE SCIENCE OF KNOWLEDGE 64. ANOTHER ARGUMENT, ANOTHER REGRET – JADE M.WONG 65. More than Mere Mortals – RIVRVLOGR 66. A Portrait In Which I Have Five Hearts – color me in cyanide and cherry […]

  4. Ostala sam bez daha. Ali stvarno. I izvini što ti ostavljam komentare na srpskom.

  5. ❤️ Absolutely amazing work.

  6. So much passion. So happy to see you back.

  7. wow, love is always the greatest passion and inspiration, isn’t it …

    Mirjana, your book has arrived and is in my hands right now, I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am to start reading it, it is a beautiful magical world inside it 🙂

    • Yes, yes it is! Sometimes I feel faulty for even trying to put it into words, like I demean it.
      I am happy to hear the book arrived, I hope you find a companion in it! I am happy to have the opportunity to, as I see it, perhaps be with my soul in your backpack while you are outside roaming and capturing moments with your camera!
      I am also very glad to hear from you, because I wanted to catch up with your 365 project, but your page just would not open. It was giving me a weird message about domain, but I am glad I can finally see it! 🙂

      • there is so much passion and subtlety in your poetry and the way you put your soul to words… your weird vivid metaphors are my fav 😀 and I am sure I’ll find plenty of inspiration in the book, even for taking more emotional photos… 🙂 you need to sign it for me one day 🙂

        oh, thank you so much for checking up on my blog… sadly, it was down for a couple of days and I lost all the photos, which I am now re-uploading, lost the doman and had to repurchase it, and all my stats and followers were reset to 0… but I still pursue the 365, thanks for checking in on that too 🙂 ♥

      • Oh, that’s a major bummer! Do they not send some kind of a notice like “Hey, your domain us about to expire!” or something? It is sad to hear you lost all your efforts, but glad to see you are not giving up. And nice that you mentioned the follower thing, I completely forgot to re-follow you, since I visit your blog usually just by typing in the link to the address bar 🙂

  8. Bjorn said it perfectly ♡♡ gorgeous

  9. Amazing use of words and thoughts. A outstanding poem.

  10. Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    Amazing poetry by a talented writer. Please read and enjoy.

  11. Oh, I see 🙂

Tell me something

 
In~between

sketches of life and clips of dreams

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

That's What She Read

In which the weird girl reads and sometimes recommends.

Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Pentgrams and Candy Hearts

Pieced By HB

a curation of thoughts

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

TWYCKENHAM NOTES

poetry & art | South Bend, IN

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

