The Vendors of Perennial Plants

romance_by_faylinn

*Image found HERE!

 
The Vendors of Perennial Plants

When the living and unliving
twist their noises into countless rooms,
between us there, a square of space,
a kermis of stargazing merchants.
Our shambles
Like a darkened sea
that splits
for no hierophant,
Our woes, pined
to the subway bulletin board;
The lumen of a thousand centuries of pinning
weaved through a single stalk of lavender;
half – priced, second- hand tincture.
You hold the hand,
beg the sickle to stay still,
its tip to wedlock
the breath that does not yet belong,
the Jettison of plural pain,
of you and the world
and the mother-me-do
of co – existing;
all fields,
nothing but decapitated bundles
of flower heads, horns, wings of moths,
coerced into second chances,
asking for a third.
We are sending off caravans
from our lungs,
trading their dogwood,
silver, ambergris
for laudanum panegyrics,
scattering our would – to – be’s
like seeds
into the tall grass,
into the valley and through the gorge:
I lurk inside of you,
the reddest dawn
to be uttered like a song –
To have you,
I must lower my head
softly upon your heart
like a xenolith
and sleep;
to feel you I must prick the yolk
against the fork
and name it a sunshine that bleeds;
to hold you I must catch the Moon,
while he is hung,
a dreamy hunter, resting, in the dark –
shred him into confetti.
To love you
I must lock pick
scallops with my tongue.
To love you
now I let you
raze the night for me.

 

*Inspired by a mix of about 4 wonderful wordless at Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, plus my own insane rambling.

~ by Oloriel on March 20, 2016.

27 Responses to “The Vendors of Perennial Plants”

  1. such powerful words…

    • Thank you very much, for taking the time to read and leave me a word of your own, and even more so if the reading was enjoyable 🙂

  2. Powerful, inspiring, and yet perplexing. I am struck by the verses: “to feel you I must prick the yolk against the fork and name it a sunshine that bleeds…”

    • Thank you very much for reading and taking time to leave me a comment. I wanted this piece to depict the delicate art of conversation, especially one we have with our loved ones.
      I am glad you found the images perplexing, and thought provoking I hope!

  3. Beeyootiful!

    • Thank you very much for your comment, especially for the way it was written in. Besides reading it as the word ‘beautiful’, I also read it as ‘Be Yourself”, which I think is one of the best advices for poetry writing.
      Thank you, once again, and have a wonderful day!

  4. Love how you weave your love with the mages of plants… Even though they wilt – there is always hope for bloom to spring from healthy roots.

    • Yes, the ever present hope… but often I wonder do these plants think about that hope, does it ever haunt them? We will most likely never know for certain!

  5. Your poem seems like a vivid photograph. Always excited to read you.

  6. That was an excellent read!

  7. Your words are beauty distilled into a powerful punch. Congrats on the new book!

  8. so vividly expressive… “a sunshine that bleeds”… love your imaginative observations…

  9. This is simply incredible. Every time you post a poem, it becomes my favorite poem. 🙂 I hope you know I mean what I say. These aren’t mere compliments, they’re truths.

    Also, I realllly want a copy of your poetry book! I know you were saying you had to get a different proof, so I look forward to when it’s officially available!

    • Thank you very much for your words, Eva, they mean so much to me and warm my heart, and also, make me want to write more.
      The book is available for about 2 weeks now already, but I urge you to order it from tomorrow, since I will be putting a discount on account of it being my birthday this week. Sucks though that today is free shipping for example, I was hoping it will coincide with my discount, but alas. Please let me know if you are interested in today’s free shipping code so I send it to you! And THANK YOU so much for all of your support ❤

  10. Wow, your poetry is so wonderful and such powerful words. 🙂

    • Thank you very much, it means a great deal coming from you! I hope one day when I publish my novel, you find it so good you review it 🙂 Hope you are having a wonderful day!

Tell me something

 
In~between

sketches of life and clips of dreams

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

That's What She Read

In which the weird girl reads and sometimes recommends.

Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Pentgrams and Candy Hearts

Pieced By HB

a curation of thoughts

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

TWYCKENHAM NOTES

poetry & art | South Bend, IN

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

