Even Loves in Odd Cities

nightlife__by_phyzer*Image found HERE

Even loves in Odd cities

 

The intersections

are librarians;

your soul

an anchor

in the ocean that dried,

every word you remember

just a fossil of the shell

that gave you arms.

Look, the rim of this glass

is a jazz tune

of lips dreaming to touch yours

without ever knowing you;

look,

the liquid is restless,

it wants to insert the moon

into your blood.

We are the flood drowning in itself,

we are the sea that doesn’t want to be;

bones make bad boats,

we are sinking in air.

 

Dear Alpha,

I am your Omega,

this rain – a new pathogen;

go on now, show me

are you a saint or a guzzler.

 

 

~ by Oloriel on September 2, 2015.

22 Responses to “Even Loves in Odd Cities”

  1. Alpha here is a small town on a Capricorn Highway (which reminds me of a song, Capricorn Dancer), where right now, both here and there the winds are blowing in from the sandhill country, welts of arid dust and bushfire haze fill the air and the nostrils, winter here has vanished since the last reach out and touch it full moon rise from in the mountains. Some how your world has, find, pushes me, falling through my world, maybe it’s just the art of the surrounds for today here in the dry…

  2. “Look, the rim of this glass is a jazz tune”, taj sa m deo mogao da osetim veฤ‡ kad je naiลกao deo sa “of lips dreaming …” izgubila mi se impresija, ostatak ฤ‡u u drugom navratu ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. To date, you are my favorite WP poet!

    I especially love this, “the liquid is restless, / it wants to insert the moon / into your blood.”

  4. The darkness of a city can be that sea of darkness, a beast or carnivore to turn our flesh to ash,.. wonderful darkness here.

    • Thank you very much, Bjorn, perhaps it is funny that this kind of compliment, about darkness worded, gives me such a warm and fuzzy feeling ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Bones make bad boats- I love it. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s funny; I have a song that I wrote about “drinking in the rain” (as in, drinking it in) and your last part reminds me of that. So many visions I get reading this! So rich. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. “your soul

    an anchor

    in the ocean that dried”

    I’m still trying to visualize that image. Perhaps it is my soul.

  7. Hmm, maybe I should go from bottom to the top, coz I think of alcohol again ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. “Look, the rim of this glass/is a jazz tune/of lips dreaming to touch yours/without ever knowing you”

    “We are the flood drowning in itself,/we are the sea that doesnโ€™t want to be”

    I’m enraptured. Wow. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. good stuff, I love the line ‘bones make bad boats’! I hope all is well with you, pal. Best wishes from baldy xx

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

