Two of Spades

Image

Image found HERE

Two of Spades

Spare ye, spare ye, and dare ye!
A coin for the harlequin behind the stage.
Heads he laughs, tails he weeps
as the auditorium yawns and blinks
and waits
for sweeping
of the dust beneath their cage.
Spare ye, spare ye and dare ye
gift a footstep
as the curtain calls,
for the harlequin has none;
the crowd in rage expects a mage,
the king a sage in gentle beige
in front row seats
the angel and the devil
eating licorice as one.

*From the Deck of Cards series

~ by Oloriel on May 18, 2014.

28 Responses to “Two of Spades”

  1. Reblogged this on hocuspocus13.

  2. Lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Love the energy in the poem. It really yells in my head like a circus Ringleader.

  4. Truly fabulous:) Beautiful.

  5. Fabulous!

  6. Love the playfulness of this poem, the loud, in-your-face tone. And so perfectly accompanies the picture. Nicely done.

  7. BTW, Upam, da ste varni! Ne pod vodo!

    • Thank you for your concern, me and my family are fine. It is so sad, here it is sunny and everyone strolling, and 10 km away people are drowning in the rain :/

  8. Wow- totally gripping. The last bit really packs a punch! “Gift a footstep”- that’s awesome. :0)

  9. Shared. Tweeted. FB’d.

    • Thank you very much, Peter! I wonder should I start putting up how to actualy use these for divination? Or is that a way too deep inside my head? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I like divination. Divination will definitely be fine.

      • Oh, I must do you a reading then with my Faerie oracle if it fits your fancy!
        I think the divination parts might be too much for the lazy readers head, or they would scorn me for not teaching them to hear what they wanted to hear (they easily forget how fragile is the future!), but I am seriously thinking of including it.

      • Please, Oloriel, go ahead and do me a reading with your Faerie oracle. I am a willing listener.

  10. Aren’t we all harlequins as our crowd prods us to weep or laugh!? I wonder…
    Rich with rhymes, colors and images, that you so effortlessly mix up on your writing palette. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I never imagined two as jester, more like filler…

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Piลกem ono ลกto mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

I'm sorry, I didn't hear what you said because I was talking

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

