The Cruel Evanesce (Tanka)

Image

*Image found HERE

The Cruel Evanesce

Your old pendulum –
a cherry scented throat
rusts ‘tween then and now.

If you release or you hold –
naugh’ in palms but spectreous wind.

*For Haiku/Tanka challenge

The two are not among my favourite writing forms, but since I already gave Haiku a try once on behest of Yves, I decided to try Tanka now also for the first time. Thank you for reading and do join the challenge with your own stuff if you like it.

 

 

~ by Oloriel on March 27, 2014.

17 Responses to “The Cruel Evanesce (Tanka)”

  1. I love that line a cherry-scented throat gorgeousness. I didn’t like haiku or tanka in the beginning either but they’ve grown on me. I still don’t like to rhyme haha

  2. It’s very nice, the first three lines specially. You rock!

  3. Very good indeed 🙂

  4. Great image.

  5. I enjoyed this tanka. I am personally partial to the Tanka form, though I won’t pretend I’m not known for having questionable tastes.

    • I get where you are coming from, its not among favourite forms also. It kinda feels to me that those who are in lvoe with the form, produce much deeper and better results. But it is always nice to give something literary new a try 😀

  6. Well done, I’ve had the word “pendulum” stuck in my head for days, I actually used it as a start to the poem “Levitated”, but that went in a whole other direction. What do I know, words just come through me, I just happen to be the guy holding the pen at the time 😉

    • The word was plaguing me for a while now also, so finaly put it to good use (or did it put itself?)
      THank you very much for reading!

  7. Mmmmmm, un Gran Trabajo, Un Saludo.

  8. cherry-scented throat – wonderful!

Tell me something

 
We Ate'nt Ded

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

