The 24th Year

A Young Poet In His 24th Year

Brain, work now as well as you can.
A one-sided passion is destroying him.
He’s in a maddening situation.
Every day he kisses the face he worships,
his hands are on those exquisite limbs.
He’s never loved before with this degree of passion.
But the beautiful fulfillment of love
is lacking, that fulfillment is lacking
which both of them must want with the same intensity.

(They aren’t equally given to the abnormal form of sensual pleasure;
only he is completely possessed by it.)

And so he’s wearing himself out, all on edge.
Then—to make things worse—he’s out of work.
He manages somehow to borrow
a little here and there (sometimes
almost begging for it) and he just gets by.
He kisses those adored lips, excites himself
on that exquisite body—though he now feels
it only acquiesces. And then
he drinks and smokes, drinks and smokes;
and he drags himself to the cafés all day long,
drags the weariness consuming his beauty.
Brain, work now as well as you can.

Constantine P. Cavafy
I wish to thank all the people who have read my blog for almost a decade, who have shared with me their time, their wisdom, their jokes when I was feeling blue. On thinking about this, and what I could say to you, what I want to express and what I want you to know that each one of you has partialy been like a parent to me. In a world where we are alone, you make it less so and I am free to say that your writing, no matter how banal you feel it may be, ahs enriched my personality.
Thank you, for being here with me, since I was 15 and up to this day, when I am 24.
green blur
~ by Oloriel on March 25, 2014.

22 Responses to “The 24th Year”

  1. nice

  2. Isn’t it your birthday? Happy Birthday! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday (hugs and kisses and lots of love)

  4. Wow you have been here a while, congratulations and “Happy Birthday” to you, I hope you have some TLC and treats. BTW lovely poem x

  5. Hey, Happy B-day to you!

  6. Sve naj! Sa zakasnjenjem (kazu babe bolje je kasnije nego ranije, onda je urok 😉 Ali je iskreno i od srca! A mogla si da slikas tu tortu da vidimo sta propustamo 😛

  7. In the end I figure out you didnt write this, it so reminds me of one…

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

