A Monday for Alice

monday_by_culpeo_fox-d307oz4

*Image found HERE! I look similar to this pretty much every day of the week.

I have been tagged by the lovely Bianca over at her blog to participate in the blog hop monday. It consists of answering a few questions, so in case you were curious about my writing processes and what I am working on at the moment, you will I hope enjoy reading my answers πŸ™‚

1. What am I working on?

The correct question to this would be What am I not working on! πŸ™‚ As most of you already know, I have my own magazine “The Tophat Raven”. We are right now finalising stuff for it’s second issue that will come out at the end of this month.

*You can check that out at “The Tophat Raven” blog

I am also working on compiling a poetry book to self-publish. And another one, which will only include my poetry on Serbian. I am busy with these, because I keep adding stuff to it, thus turning it into something that resembles a neverending process. I do everything myself, including formatting and cover designs.

I am finishing, revising, loving a lot of books of my own,one being a collection of short stories with a mythological string, one being a fantasy book, and a three book serie in the sci-fi genre. I am not dedicating a lot of my time to this right now, but you will hear about it more in the near future.Besides this,I participate in a few multimedia projects, like “Cyanide & Cherries”, with H.K. Abell, and “Your Mind On Poe”, which is my digital work collection of, let’s say, grungy porttraits with poetry scribbled on them.

My favourite track from the C&C project, and you can find the rest of them on the project page in the right sidebar:

And an artwork from “Your Mind on Poe”, an adaptation to a photograph already seen on my blog:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My newest project is very exciting and I am enjoying weaving through it with my words in the company of wonderful Yves. This one is going to be amazing and you will hear about it more in the near future.

Yes, I do besides all of this cook, clean, sleep and breathe πŸ™‚

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Well, I have always been dubbed too eclectic to fit in any genre, and it is something I was always reprimended for, scolded, advised, you name it, to do: pick a spot and fit in. I see it as constraining and bossy, and I have a huge problem with authority of that kind. You can’t tell me what to write! If you look at my poetry, I believe there is many motives and abstract thoughts, as well as pain and clarity, besides the fact I would not myself like to fit it into any mold, I think the shape just would not fit anyway.

How is my work different? I believe the above paragraph tells a part of the tale. I see a lot of writers catering to the demands of audience hoping for fame, letting others butcher their stories, constraining themselves and delving into genres which are popular but not close to their heart. I don’t. I am not affraid to tackle anything and see if I enjoy writing it and I am a smartass, I have an opinion about everything and will not hesitate to write about it. I have an equal penchant for romance and the macabre and I often make the two flirt in many of my writing. I have no problems using vocabulary I know the reader will not understand, I don’t snip and cut so my writing can have a more flatline understanding. I like to include what I call “specimen psychology” into everything I write, all the stories about creatures and other times and planets, whilst many, in my opinion, tend to make the drama more appealing and linear.

3. Why do I write what I do?

Cause a hookah smoking caterpillar told me so.

4. How does my writing process work?

My writing process hops from mad to spoiled. I rarely prepare or make outlines, I consider that boring and if I feel bored, I will not write. The story, the poem, the novella – it has to live, not be examined. I revise as I go and I like it and I am always going to do it. If I see a page with just scribbles that looks to me like garbage, I will never leave it at that cause I am in a rush to continue writing or reach a word count. I will either edit it straight away or scrap the whole thing for good. I never revise my poetry, rewrite it or anything, aside from grammatical errors, as it comes I write it down and that’s it. Often inspiration strikes me in what you can call improper times, so I have a lot of fragments and single cryptic lines writen down everywhere: napkins, bills, newspaper, wood – if the message takes me in, it has to be engraved somewhere immediatly. Most find this to be rude and uninteresting, it is a comment I am well used to recieving. I absolutely hate badly executed repetition and I take care not to succumb to it. I also believe some things have to soul-cook, so I am never in a rush to finish a piece, if it feels to me like it would like to wait and stir a little bit more. I also write everything from the ending.

Well, hope you did not get bored to death reading about my writing, it’s nothing special or theatrical. Now I need to pass on the “eat me” cookies (chocolate chip, if I baked them!) to three other writers I am fond of and curious about the tint of their own ink madness. They are:

Georgia Bastet Koch – a lovely, inspiring lady that runs Pixelventures and is a connoisseur of Japanese writing styles and poetry, as well as a free verse and rhyme weaver never afraid to tackle any form, including stories.

Helena Hann-Basquiat – this wonderful dilettante will quickly invade your soul with her stories. She is preparing to debut her Memoirs and is currently runing a Kickstarter campaign for it. Be warned, you will get addicted to her words and personality faster then you can say ‘bisquit’!

Vers Les Etolles – Hannah is that curious, mysterious writer you hope you will meet in the caffe, manage to somehow get her drunk, then suck out and borrow all the writing genious.

Wether my nominees decide to participate or not, they are well worth the read, so do pay them a visit!

I wish you all a good Monday (if that is, in any way, even possible!)

~ by Oloriel on March 2, 2014.

35 Responses to “A Monday for Alice”

  1. you are a busy one aren’t you. Congrats with what you have done so far and good luck for all your future endeavours πŸ™‚ x

  2. Wow. Do you sleep? Not like I should talk.

    • I have today took a 1 hour nap. I woke up literaly dictating what I am supposed to write down for a project AND I have dreamed being actually inside the story, my husband is probubly contemplating exorcism πŸ™‚

      • I’ve had those dreams. I dread naps though. They make me feel terrible.

      • Same. I in general disslike sleeping, because I feel it as a waste of time. But constantly walking, standing and doing shenenigence with a 2 year old that hates sleep too is making my body want to reset.
        This is why I think I sleepwalk and talk a lot in my sleep and people say when I wake up I just get up immediatly and start doing stuff, I hate lying down and resting, because my mind is always busy,but my body can’t handle it. I’ve never been a sports person so my physical condition is terrible.

      • The 4 year old sleeps through the night, but he wakes up at 6 AM a lot. I just collapse by the end of the day, but being constantly walking around and doing stuff doesn’t help. I find it hard to sit still when thinking. Might be why the stationary bike helps me think.

      • Seth sleeps through the night too, but he puts a hell of a fight to go the bed and usualy goes at midnight, after a lot of dancing with me or mr. dad. He also gets up at 6 AM, its his most usual time, when he gets up at 8, I celebrate. he is in his Lets follow and help with all phase, so it is a manneuvr to cook anything because he wants to help. If I start cleaning, he picks stuff up and wants to clean too, and atthough this is sooo sweet, it also makes ever task last at least 1 hour longer.
        I would love a stationary bike. And I think I should get a dictaphone so I can write my stuff while I sleep πŸ˜€

      • Aidan still does that, but he’s more helpful these days. We give him a broom or sit him on the counter to hand us stuff. Never thought of a dictaphone.

  3. Fabulous post, Oloriel! I love that you’re slave to your creativity/artistic integrity and nothing else πŸ™‚ I look forward to all/anything that you publish x

  4. I loved reading about your writing, such intensity and passion brilliant and I love Jefferson Airplane. My abnormal psych teacher used to play this before we watched lobotomies. It was a night class so it got a little scary in there lol

  5. I wish I had more hours in the day, darling. Today and tomorrow are likely to be complete washes, as my colleague is on vacation and I have to pick up her slack. And this on top of it being Monday. Doesn’t seem right.
    Penny loves the Alice reference, by the way. Thanks for the shout out. Methinks we need to sit down for tea — it’s been far too long.

    • I was thinking it might give you an extra idea/space/oportunity to talk about your book, but I totaly get what you mean about extra hours:D
      I am up for that tea anytime!

      • Thank you for thinking of me, darling! I’m currently also in the middle of a two day migraine (and add to that helping my friend Jim deal with a flooded basement) and I’m feeling quite useless.

      • I hope the whole situation turns out for the best!
        And for the migraines, I have no idea how to help (and thank Zeus they have not plagued me for a while now). On migraine days I’d press the “destroy whole world” button if I even hear a sound or see a light :/

  6. I’m running late, I have an important date. Thanks, I enjoyed the read above, so many project happening, all the best with each coming together.

  7. I was a little ate reading this…what a lovely idea! I’ve never done one of these What would you like me to do Oloriel? Do I do a post with the questions? Not from Pixelventures though πŸ˜‰

    • You are just to mention who tagged you, then answer the same 4 questions I did. At the end, you nominate 3 other writers to do the same. It is supposed to be posted on a Monday πŸ™‚

  8. Fabulous. i love the refusal to be pigeon-holed, and I love the fact that you think writing should be lived, should breathe, should be allowed to come in its own time and then should be left, and not endlessly edited. Editing rips the soul out of raw, passionate work and turns it into something highly polished, beautiful, but empty.

    • Those are exactly my thoughts! I often get told I should edit, I should proofread, change, snip this, rewrite that, and after that pay a “professional” to do it. I always think how then it would not be my story or my poem, it would be that editors work and then, why did I even bother?
      Sometimes the things we have to say are not pretty. We are spoiled and taught to glamorize everything, as well as to treat the speaker as though we are audience that needs service, needs a platefull of favourite words served with origami elephant napkins and often refuse to see/hear/read/breathe in the fact that someones poem is an etheral part of their soul projected into alphabet.
      So yes, I’d say, down with the monetary outlook on writing only!, and down with creating 10 different outlook of ourselves just to fit a box,shelf and list! πŸ˜€

  9. “Cause a hookah smoking caterpillar told me so”- An epic answer. πŸ™‚
    Did I ever mention that you are one of my absolutely favorite writers on blogosphere and one of my favorite poets among all? Well, I would like to mention that now. It is your unrestrained writing style that has me savoring each of your words.
    And it is great to know about your projects. They sound exciting. All the best for every task you undertake. πŸ™‚

  10. excellent, nice to hear about other writers’ writing habits. best wishes from baldy

  11. I am so enjoying your page and posts. The name Alice in the title struck me and I was pleased to find a fellow Wonderland fan. Your writing is soothing, musical and so smooth. There’s so much to dig into..seems like a journey that deserves some time and Earl Grey. I’m eager to come back πŸ™‚

    • I would be more then happy to share a (big) cup of Mr. Earl with you! I hope the journey through my words and world brings you joy πŸ™‚

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

