I could have loved a bird

Image

*Image found HERE

I could have loved a bird

I could have loved a bird.
You do not decide to whom
you gift
your first scarlet,
hopping through the atoms
until two lips are met.
You just set loose your throat
melancholic and wet
and scream.
Yet there you are,
a wanton,
a sadistic soprano,
wanting to carelessly burn
while the nightingale is trying to sing.
How do you match the woe?
Unless you fashion yourself a doe,
what do you offer to the one
who already has wings?
I wanted to love that bird,
but all I could do
was craft forย  it with human hands,
cage upon cage;
I would bend the branch and stone and riverbed,
I would rip and snip and cut the cloths,
I’d compile castles, bazaars, operas and oceans,
and cook them in my chest like it’s a steaming pot –
and the bird would fly and wed itself a brook,
I’d rot inside the stockades tangled, threading,
roses and tulips and amethyst contrabasses,
until there would be nothing left for bending
but bare bones.
I heard him sing his love for someone else,
I heard him chirp his gentle heart for a Hoopoe.

Done for The Daily Prompt

~ by Oloriel on February 14, 2014.

47 Responses to “I could have loved a bird”

  1. Ah! That wretched bird… always flying away. It is sometimes not easy to love someone or it is not easy for them to be loved.
    I especially liked the questioning heart of what one shall give to someone already with wings. A beautiful write… tinged with the sorrow of unrequited love. Oh! But it is more than just an unrequited love because the voice of the poem is finding it difficult to love that love. How tragic!

    • Thank you very much for reading HA. My first ever crushes real name was Nightingale. How terribly poetic did that have to go?
      It sucks having feelings for someone and feeling constantly like they would deserve something far more better then you.

  2. Exquisite, sublime and tremblingly beautiful – made me cry, Oloriel … and I could give no greater compliment. xxx

    • I wish we had a more joyfull memory song to sing, but alas, we are aflame in the different aviaries ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yes, we have to hear the weeping pain of the nightingale pressing her breast against a white rose for love, as well as the more celebratory sounds of joy and courtship. xxx

  3. […] I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry […]

  4. Gorgeous

  5. I love this. I just love it. I never know what to say to poems I love, it’s like all the words are already there and there’s no need to say more. This is why I so frequently just hit “like…” but this one, I love.

  6. […] I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry […]

  7. […] I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry […]

  8. […] I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry […]

  9. Lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Hvala puno! Ne mogu da cekam! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. […] I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry […]

  12. […] I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and ย ย ย ย  Cherry […]

  13. The melody of your words is gorgeous in this one and the imagery and every word it is perfection!

  14. jedino mi bude krivo sto ne znam engleski bas toliko dobro i onda moram nekad da prekinem da prevedem po koju rec koja mi zapne, a to mi onda narusi kontinuitet citanja… ali me oduvas svaki put kako slazes reci u stihove i ta celina sto postane… bas bas dopada!

  15. Beautiful.

  16. what a serendipity Oloriel! lovely. Even I just wrote something on the Love birds I had as pets ๐Ÿ™‚
    felt Great reading this!

  17. Absolutely raw and visceral, I really enjoyed this passage

    “Iโ€™d compile castles, bazaars, operas and oceans,
    and cook them in my chest like itโ€™s a steaming pot โ€“
    and the bird would fly and wed itself a brook,
    Iโ€™d rot inside the stockades tangled, threading,
    roses and tulips and amethyst contrabasses,
    until there would be nothing left for bending
    but bare bones.”

    • Thank you very much for reading and taking time to leave me a comment, I am most pleased you enjoyed the poem and especially the part you quoted, it being my personal favourite ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Lovely. Absolutely lovely.

  19. I can read this poem forever. A poem like this belongs in a book. I have sat here reading it over and over again. The language is excellent; the metaphor is earnestly applied. Even the message and the tone. The exquisite longing, “I wanted to love that bird . . .” The regretful melancholy, “. . . but all I could do/ was craft for it with human hands/ cage upon cage . . . I heard him sing his love for someone else . . .” It is a poem rendered with artistic beauty and profundity. Simple. Vivid. Distressing. I love it.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, they have certanly made my day, as well as knowing that you have enjoyed reading this and would not mind returning to it, and even more, keeping it.
      Thank you,once more.

  20. It pulled me in. That’s how I “judge” poetry- Some I just glance off the top, but this work pulled me right in… enough ambiguity for multiple interpretations… my kind of stuff.

  21. wow…really well written…and you def sucked me right in…the bending of the bare bones…i could have a loved a bird…smiles…i wish i could fly like one…its always been a dream for me…..there is wonderful feeling in the reading…

  22. Brilliant, beautiful and profound work! I have MISSED reading your poetry!! I’ve been really, really busy lately. xxxxxxx

  23. So lovely, Oloriel… my favorite part “Iโ€™d rot inside the stockades tangled, threading,
    roses and tulips and amethyst contrabasses,
    until there would be nothing left for bending
    but bare bones”

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Piลกem ono ลกto mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

