(Still) Broken pt 2

Image

Still broken right where you left me,

on a chessboard with no white fields

where all the pawns had stripped their wings
and learned to count their wounds
before the bishop –

When dead hearts tell tales
about those pieces
shattered and scattered.
destined
never again to be replicated
or found,

may the feather of a crow dress me in night’s shades
and rest atop my burial ground

like a statue that is still alive

for dead hearts are dead
and thus

neither have a place nor a bound
and the horseman
will still glide through fields
or loves denied.

Still broken,
right where you left me –
with my heartstrings
flying tattered kites,
up in the celophane sky.

~ by Oloriel on December 8, 2013.

25 Responses to “(Still) Broken pt 2”

  1. Broken beyond repair, there are some things which can never be replicated and dead hearts indeed are dead. I really liked it. Well-penned.

    • thank you HA, I am glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I wanted to just put the picture, but as I was posting it, these words appeared – I will probs use them and rewrite them sometime in the future 😀

  2. The fate of the pawns, once winged, is especially poignant. One of the best hooks I’ve read in any genre in a long time.

  3. Beautiful wordplay.

  4. “When dead hearts tell tales
    about those pieces
    shattered and scattered.
    destined
    never again to be replicated
    or found”

    wow! This piece was really powerful… Have I told you lately how much I adore your imagery!!!

    • Thank you very much Noora, it is always a delight to hear and also know that my writing gets you to return to this little corner of mine 🙂

  5. That is a powerful piece. You make the language dance for you.

    Regards
    Sir

  6. an ethereal quality Oriel – beautiful & haunting.

    • Thank you, I love etheral stuff, so it is always a great joy to recieve it as a compliment! I am also loving all the new nicknames I have been getting lately, they really do make me smile 😀
      Hope you are well!

  7. Two words: Heartbreakingly beautiful. Also, this line is simply astounding: “on a chessboard with no white fields” I’ve missed reading your work! Great post, my friend. 🙂

  8. Bonjour Mistress Wordsmith

    Your poetry is simply beautiful, a great emotional experience and often very, very uplifting.

    How many times have l got to tell you to get a “Love Everything Immensely” button.

    Fondest regards

    Dan
    P.S. Hope the snow hasn’t faded

    • Thank you very much for your words, there is no greater joy for a poet then to know that the words left something behind inside the reader.
      P.S. The snow unfortunately, all gone 😦

  9. Cracked soul, a heart all in pieces… Such a beautiful sentiment about something so tragic..

  10. Wow! Breath-taking tragic and beautiful

  11. So beautiful and piercing “Still broken,
    right where you left me –
    with my heartstrings
    flying tattered kites,
    up in the celophane sky.”

    • A lot of times, when we are left by something or someone, even the sky looks like it is unreal, like it is not there anymore, like it is only a scenery just waiting for someone to rip it.

      Thank you very much reading 🙂

Tell me something

 
We Ate'nt Ded

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

