The Highwayman took your Daughter

Image

Image found HERE!

The Highwayman took your Daughter

Maybe you remember the little girl
with a telescope.
scouring the skies
for her homeland,
an alley cat,
chained and barefoot
with no matches to sell
and no purrs to beg,
only some tell-tale groans
of made up fabled cities,
mythologies of roof cracks
traced upon papers
with feeble little hands,
so assured and scared of knowing
how some of us
are simply
born old.

How the silhouettes of ladies
trading jewels and spices
would put pink on her cheeks
and how
dresses were not fitting
and hair refused to be tied
while she was sitting,
perched upon the birch
just like a bird,
waiting for some sign
to spread her wings and dissapear,
everything was gushing by
like people in markets,
wanting to posses only the best fruits
for their cookies and cakes,
while the paints were peeling
and she was pleading
that the building inside of her
was alive;
some of us are haunted hotels
and every guest is uninvited.

You look at me like I am a stranger,
I am a watch that lives inside your pocket
and for the life of you,
you cannot remember,
where you have purchased me or where,
just where and when and how
was I to you gifted,
and you cannot ask me
“What’s the time?”,
for some of us
are here
thinking
it is always Autumn.

You scavenge through old drawings
and cassettes and tapes.
you water down old perfume bottles
and you sprinkle them upon hallways;
you remember sunshine
and expectations,
you remember being a gardener,
you remember flying planes
only to yet again feel
the touch of the land,
the engulf of gravity upon the traveler
and you drink
bottoms up
to Returnings;
then you look at me,
and this creation is not spiteful,
only born
and grew
to be a cloud.

And you ask me,
when will I rub the roses to my lips;
and you ask me
when will I let another hold my hand;
and you listen carefully
for choruses of songs only a woman can sing;
You ask me:
“Who are you?”
I say:
“A highwayman took your daughter, father.”
“Who?”
“The Moon, Dad, the Moon.”

*Shown and published in Jayde’s wonderfull magazine! For more about it go HERE

~ by Oloriel on November 24, 2013.

32 Responses to “The Highwayman took your Daughter”

  1. Such a beautiful write. Very fluid flow and what a tale told.
    “some of us are haunted hotels and every guest is uninvited”- wonderful. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Gorgeous! The imagery you take my breath

  3. This is one of your best writings, dear. I mean it. Such imagery! Such clever twisted words! This line really impressed me: “with no matches to sell and no purrs to beg”. Damn!
    Very very well done…

    • Heh, me and my allusions to fairytales. I don’t know if you ever heard of the story called “The Girl with the Matches” ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am very glad to hear you say this is my best one, I am always the happiest when people can pinpoint me their favourites and even more when those usualy differ so much from one another ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yes! I used to read that as a kid and cry my eyes out…

      • I got so sad, my grandmother ripped the book and never read it to me again.

      • Oh no ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Thats so sad and unfair. I really hope you eventually got hold of the book again?

      • I did, but it was not that same book, that she took from her job to read to the first children of the family that might actually survive the wars :/

      • This is honestly so very sad. Destroyed/binned/unappreciated books actually make my heart weep.

      • She did it for me, tho. I have a disease that makes me get spasms when I sleep, if I get too scared or stressed during the day/before bed time and I already once had it happen to me when I was with her alone at seaside, no doctors anywhere etc and she had to get me a shot that I need to take in 15 min span time or I basicly choke to death. This story is so heartbreaking that I got really really sad. i thought it was real, i wanted to go out and find the girl and bring her home and give her my cloths and food. So this is why she did it ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Oh… See how little personal detail of explanation can change things.. Im sorry to hear that you suffer from that. Then of course, what she did was a pure act if caring and loving. Oh dear, i can just imagine little Oloriel being upset with a beating heart, crying for the little girl outside in the cold…
        But yes, i remember my grandma reading that book to me and the pictures were so beautiful in the book, i would masochistically read that book over and over again.
        Thank you for reminding me of that memory once again.
        Hugs.

  4. the imagery in this is beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Simply amazing. Love the fluid flow of the poem and the imagery it creates.

  6. Jel imas trip da neke “slike” koje nosis u masti pretocis u stih? Ako to radis, ne da dobro to radis… bas ozbiljno razmisljam da copy/paste-ujem tvoje pesme (ako nemas nista protiv) pa da ih citam po redu, onako ponekad, da uzivam, sad ide vreme neko kisno/snezno, leglo bi mi ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I think this poem is my favorite of yours so far. It made me smile, it made me laugh. I read it eagerly and didn’t want it to end. <- the highest compliment I can pay, I think. Lepo opravljeno!

    • Hvala, prijatelju!I am very glad you were able to enjjoy the humorous side of it. Thank youvery much for reading and telling me this is your favourite fo mine ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Imagery is stunning and I sang this as I read your word, a ballad old ye English styleโ€ฆI know it’s not what you possibly thought of happening ~ but it came to be as a song.

    • Oh, that would be a great pleasure and delight to read. When reading your comment, I just get reminded how much I love those, Scaraborough Fair comes to mind ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. “some of us are haunted hotels
    and every guest is uninvited.”

    As always, Oloriel, your imagery is so unique and powerful. Forgive my absence; it will take me a few days to catch up on what I’ve missed. Hope you are enjoying the snow.:)

  10. Hi Oloriel,
    I just wanted to pop by and say a huge thank you for submitting work to The Paperbook Collective this year. It was an honour to publish your beautiful poetry. Thanks for all your support.
    Have a wonderful festive season!
    Jayde.

    • Thank you, for making a wonderfull magazine and giving everyone the oportunity to enjoy it and thank you for the mentions! Here’s to many more issues ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. This is breathtakingly beautiful. parts of it reminds me of The Little Match Girl by Hans Christian Andersen that I read as a child.

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Piลกem ono ลกto mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

