Broken (Photo set)

weekly photo challenge broken

A little something from the photo project I am working on, titled Broken. I initialy wanted to share it inspired by the Daily Post, but I mistook it for a weekly prompt, while in fact it was a daily prompt so hooh, the train passed 🙂

Hope you enjoy and all comments are much appriciated. Tell me what you see in it or what you don’t, tell me what seduces you and what scares you.

~ by Oloriel on October 29, 2013.

14 Responses to “Broken (Photo set)”

  1. Being the “being” I am, I first took the ribbon to be the blood stream, oozing out of the wound penetrated into a body of broken soul and the quill to dip into it and for writing out the agony within.
    The ribbon could also be seen as a restraint but for the words that are free to the person(represented by quill).
    It is artistic… it is creative. 🙂

  2. I see struggle we enslave ourselves and we are the only ones who can free ourselves but we look outside ourselves for the key for captor. Push others away and bind ourselves tighter and tighter. Make our world smaller and smaller. We rebel against our own natures and destroy ourselves in the process.

  3. I also took it as blood and at first the feather looked like a knife, but that was my own mind seeing what I thought was a suicide. Nice work

    • I can totaly see how , looking to the smaller picture, the feather can easily be seen as a knife, but your suicide vision also made me think. When I see a feather and hand, it immediately associates me to art and writing and then I get to thinking: Is not making and doing and living in some cases Art a sort of a suicidal move?

  4. The first thing that came to my mind was seeing the feather as muse/creativity, the ribbon as blood and the wrapping of the two to hand as binding of blood to muse/art. So to me it said at first; this is why artists/writers are driven to create, we’re bound in blood to the muse.

    Reading HA’s response I can very much see that as well.

    I really like these pictures, Oloriel.

  5. I think it’s a brilliant concept that you thought of, the “broken” pieces of oneself. I think it’s great. I’m not too sure about the actual string in the photos (maybe use something else?), but that’s just me. I absolutely love the light in the photos and the feather. So excited to see you being so talented and inspired and always finding time for creative activities. You are a woman and a mother to be looked up to. Keep it up!

  6. […] to post this week’s Pixelventures’ Photo Finish on Friday this week as a concession to Oloriel who will be posting an interesting piece in theme with the October 22nd prompt go there and see the […]

  7. These are visually appealing, to me, the first in the sequence is like the entrapment of life and the second is the release in death, the third is the side by side peaceful coexistence in eternity/rebirth. Beautiful color scheme, red the symbol of life, i.e. blood, the feather, stands in stark contrast, in the first frame seems like an object to be wielded, a weapon, and gradually changes to a calmer image that is spread out in kindness. A brilliant sequence Selena!

Tell me something

 
We Ate'nt Ded

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

Pišem ono što mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

