The Unknown Lover

Image

*Image found HERE!

The Unknown Lover

If Death would to sever my head in one of it’s campaigns,
you could not, my Love,
recognize my body among the bodies
of one million Jane Doe
that would dream lifeless
next to me in the morgue.

If my tongue would burn away from my words,
you could not, my Love
recognize my stories among the stories
of three hundred and two souls
singing drunk
at the main square.

If your eyes were blindfolded, Love,
Eons would pass before you would find me
in the live sea of people and hearts.
You would sink into that quicksand
of lips, hairs and arms;
each one of them would have been Me.

If you would only listen to me once, my Love,
you would realize
that it is not I who is different among them,
but you, who are different when you are with me
and you would no longer,
blind, deaf and dead,
have to search for me.

For I would be there.

*Old work πŸ™‚

~ by Oloriel on October 15, 2013.

45 Responses to “The Unknown Lover”

  1. Beautifully written… I loved how you concluded it. Thoughtful with that romantic theme… splendid reading. πŸ™‚
    -HA

  2. Liked this. Has the tone of support which we all look for in a friend or lover.

  3. Interesting and well constructed, I liked that ending very much which put the whole poem on its ear…very well constructed indeed.

  4. “that it is not I who is different among them,
    but you, who are different when you are with me”

    Oloriel, this is amazing. So, so true. This is exactly how love is.

    Seriously, *standing ovation* on this one!

  5. This is so beautiful… I love how you brought it full circle, and the way it grows from repetition.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. I always have personal issues with repetition, no matter how I do it, it seems a little bad for me, so I am always glad to hear feedback on the repetition in my poems. πŸ™‚

  6. This – is – breath – taking… beyond belief. Covers so much…

  7. Oloriel, this was a strunningly powerful portait of a relationship. Really great read.>KB

  8. I love this. One million Jane Does, 302 stories, quicksand of people…so many wonderful images. Beautifully written! πŸ™‚

  9. interesantno mi je kako sam se juce sreo sa imenom “Jane Doe/John Doe” i sada citam, uzgred prva strofa mi je malo mracnija od ostalih, ali celina je uf… πŸ˜€

  10. Oloriel…old work? Does it matter? It was strong and grabbed the heart in beauty and in pain – gorgeous write. Thank you.

    • Thank you very much for your words. I always say when it is an old piece and not a fresh one, because it is interesting for both me and other people to look at the writing and see if you can spot a change in style, strenght, motives or no change at all πŸ˜€

      • You are most welcome – as I haven’t followed for long or read too many of your pieces I cannot judge. I am pretty hopeless at analysing poetry – style – strength etc – I say what I like and why I like and hopefully the writer is okay with such minimalistic comments πŸ™‚

  11. Lovely! Always lovely. πŸ˜€ Your work is always the best.

  12. “β€œthat it is not I who is different among them,
    but you, who are different when you are with me”

    I always feel the mask falling when someone doesn’t even realize they are different when they are with someone behind closed doors…
    wonderful thoughts….as always…
    truthful in a gentle way….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  13. Your poetry sings with such deep conviction- is vivified by such majestic raw imagery and powers of expression. A rare thing in the too-often soulless cyber-scape.

  14. I think I live in that rabbit hole of yours for a long time and when you look into that hole, the discovery destroys the soul. Great choice of words.Thank you for stopping by.

    • What you said makes so much perfect sense !Thank you very much for reading and am glad you enjoyed.

      • Any time. That picture reminds me of an old RPG I once played. I forgot the name. I was crazy-addicted to it and now the name is gone. Shit. If I can recall, I will ask again. Stand upright and have a nice day.

  15. “If your eyes were blindfolded, Love,
    Eons would pass before you would find me
    in the live sea of people and hearts.
    You would sink into that quicksand
    of lips, hairs and arms;
    each one of them would have been Me.”
    …. this is truly beautiful, Oloriel. Amazing work – as always.

  16. Beautifully written , My Love πŸ™‚

  17. I’m getting excited. Thats me in the picture, right? Well done.

    Mr MakingUsmile

  18. Wow .. really beautiful and sensitive…

    • Thank you, I am glad you liked it and I am glad to hear you found it sensitive, I am glad that the darkness of the first verse manages to transform into sensuality in the eyes of a reader πŸ™‚

  19. Words of wisdom and power even back then? Dobro delo. -Tina

  20. Thanks Ma”m . we have a dream, everyone have a dream, Just “ONE WORLD ONE DREAM” beautiful haven dream ….

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site to remember Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

PiΕ‘em ono Ε‘to mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

I'm sorry, I didn't hear what you said because I was talking

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

