To Lady Autumn

Image

http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/daydreaming/images/18932448/title/romantic-autumn-wallpaper

To Lady Autumn

 

I await thee at the ending of Summer,

my beautiful Lady of Dusk,

thy leery orange shivers,

spiced with the blossoms of musk.

 

Under oaks and birches I will lie,

questioning my desires,

I’ll watch the leaves fall flying by,

through horizons colored red like fire.

 

Gray clouds cast shades on our faces,

I am cleansed by the pouring rain,

that falls with hope to cover the traces

of our loneliness and our pain.

 

And such wisdom you bring to us Lady,

of things that die to be born,

your winds etch melancholy on our windows

as we dance to the tunes of amber horns.

 

The Sun now warms at your behest,

the roses, withered, dried in heat,

all bow their heads and not protest

to be the palace for thy feet.

 

We crack in melodies obscure

Softly skies embrace September king,

in twilights and on grounds too beautiful to reap

As the nightingale laments, but sings.

 

We are lulled by the fiery sunsets,

Mesmerized by shades of your hair.

I await for you Lady Autumn,

now that Summer doth broke away.

*Old poem.

~ by Oloriel on September 2, 2013.

51 Responses to “To Lady Autumn”

  1. loved this… 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    that is very nice. Hasn’t happened here in Ga. yet, though..

  3. really enjoyed this one… third stanza stands out for me…

  4. Absolutely Lovely!!

  5. Really stunningly written.>KB

  6. Ah yes…the season of mists and mellow fruitfulness is gradually creeping back, and I’m all the happier for it.

  7. “We are lulled by the fiery sunsets,
    Mesmerized by shades of your hair.
    I await for you Lady Autumn,
    now that Summer doth broke away.”

    I absolutely adore the “fiery sunsets” and the whole poem itself.
    This was so amazing read that it actually moved me by its beauty.
    Ahh!

    xxxxxx

    • Thank you very much! Autumn is one of my favourite seasons and I am absolutely extatic I could see it slowly coming. So glad you enjoyed the poem.

  8. This is beautiful, we have just entered Spring, but you put my feet in amongst the colours of Autmun.

  9. Lovely! Autumn is my favorite season!

  10. such magnificent poetry, Oloriel, the tempo, the unforced, natural rhyme and i especially loved this passage

    And such wisdom you bring to us Lady,
    of things that die to be born,
    your winds etch melancholy on our windows
    as we dance to the tunes of amber horns.

    what an introduction to my favorite season, ty.

  11. I love this stanza, Oloriel:
    “Gray clouds cast shades on our faces,
    I am cleansed by the pouring rain,
    that falls with hope to cover the traces
    of our loneliness and our pain.”

  12. This is so beautiful and so vivid!

  13. lady autumn
    ~
    feeling your breath
    from the arctic
    whispering soft threats
    of winter

  14. This is beautiful!

  15. Autumn is my favorite season but even as it advances, I’m reluctant to let go of summer. Beautiful work.

    • It is funny how we are always like that, clinging strongly to something that is leaving, even tho what may come can be more joyous. Thank you very much for reading!

  16. Personification at its best… lovely writing!

  17. I love how perfectly youve arranged the contradictions to mean exactly what you wanna say… this was absolutely beautiful

    • Thank you, I am very happy you liked it, but I cannot take credit for this: all of it is just the beauty of Autumn, I am merely its feeble translator.

  18. Nice to find another soul who shares my love affair with Autumn. I am soooooooo ready for the leaves to start changing. Somehow the Summer sun is always too bright…

    • Me and my son were outside yesterday,for a walk and play and we saw a fallen leaf on the ground. The tingles that came over me were magical, I kept saying Yes, AUTUMN! An affair is the perfect word to describe the autumn relationship. Summer Sun? Too bright, too decieving 🙂

  19. Lovely. This is perfect, as I am anxiously awaiting the cool and changing gusts of fall.

  20. So beautiful….The words spell out autumn colors… 😉 :*
    Veoma mi je drago da smo se pronašle na blogu, uvek mi je drago čitati te 🙂

  21. perfect poem for how I feel about time and nature right now. Love this.

  22. Mogu samo da naslutim jer ne znam engleski. 🙂

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

