Tea of Pyre

Image

http://matmoon.deviantart.com/art/Down-in-a-hole-112658149

Tea of Pyre

Undress and confess
before my scars,
toss me my high-heels
and share your sin
like a cigarette.
what is known once
becomes a history,
the worm is in the apple
carving tapestries
with his little pointy teeth
and the bridge is on fire.

The charlatan
is wearing a ball gown;
marry my loss in scarlet.
Bring your shovel,
toll your bell,
ignite the priest.
Handfast this
dead darkness
twitching like a violin string.

I distill the anis seed,
it’s fit for you to drown.

Follow me down into the hole,
eat the lie, tease the fool,
strangle your bird with the flicker,
once the massacre
of the fairytale
no longer yields you blue,
you’re a modern day artist
confined in a biology classroom.
The architecture of my castle-
an open banquet
for the paleontologist;
some day
the children will play
hide and seek with our bones.

And the cloth that lines your table
was once Aphrodite’s dress,
rinsed from Love
and we are nothing but a
little white rabbit
and a mad hatter girl,
putting cotton candy price tags
on the world.

Bridges burn.

~ by Oloriel on August 16, 2013.

68 Responses to “Tea of Pyre”

  1. To me it seems a very complex composition crafted elegantly.

  2. Cool poem. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    now following

  3. Lewis Carroll would be proud. πŸ™‚

  4. I too thought of Carroll…but then no…it’s a 100% you…this is a beautifully crafted piece of dark poetry, love how you play with words…

  5. Oh Yes indeed!
    Aphrodrite’s dress/ tablecloth – how very clever.
    But (sorry)” little white rabbit and a mad hater girl”
    should that be mad hatter girl ?

    • Yes, I meant hatter, thanks for pointing it out. I actually wrote it like that but my Word was saying otherwise -_- I hate when that happens, last time it was trying to convince me the word ruth does not exist… Thank you once again for telling me and I am glad you liked the poem!

  6. This was veryu powerful. Your handling of the imagery was really excellent.>KB

  7. I loved the line:
    handfast this dead darkness
    powerful stuff, m’lady.
    I really liked your article on the 13th floor about writing and writers but my comment would not post for some reason. I’ll try again another time. brilliantly written, my friend. best wishes from baldy πŸ™‚

    • I am glad you liked it! We should tell Sahm the comments are not working for some, I always love to hear input and opinions, especially from someone whose thoughts I cherish,like yours.

  8. Oh, so many gems here! The one that I will remember (and perhaps try to emulate :)) is this: “share your sin like a cigarette” — magnificent.

  9. A wonderfully dark twist. Loved all your creative twists down a path strewn with madness.

  10. This piece is extraordinarily haunting! I am amazed yet again…

  11. but when the darkness surrounds
    what a tea party you will have..!
    I like this as it seem to spiral in each verse
    drawing me to that rabbit hold I know so well..
    this is very creative and enchanting …
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

  12. Brilliant =)

    • Glad you liked it ❀

      • Very much! You are an amazing writer =)

      • How is the book going? Don’t leave us waiting too long! πŸ˜€

      • I have all my poems selected and just sent them to Brian =) Hubbie hasn’t started the cover yet though. I am thinking of a name considering the input and reevaluating a title which is hard because I am terrible at titles lol

      • YAY! This is great news πŸ˜€ Take it easy with the title, just let it come to you or you can always name it by a poem that represents the book best in a way.

      • I was thinking of that but what poem do people read and think Mindlovemisery lol I know the poems which I had the most fun writing, the poems that are the most self-exposing but not which poem is one of my best pieces (what I think of as best is not always the most liked, in fact sometimes those are the least popular!) or identified the most with me

      • Yeah,this is the thing with everyone. A lot of times a piece I am most fond of gets so very little attention and not many people like it. If it was me,I would simply use the title of that one poem that completely represents me, one where I was most honest towards myself.

      • I know have a few painfully honest pieces I have included

  13. Would you like some tea and biscuits?
    Only we lack a white rabbit, maybe with some wine πŸ˜‰

  14. ‘marry my loss in scarlet’..this and so many other unique expressions make this poem brilliantly shine. much enjoyed the flow and wording. really beautiful work πŸ™‚

  15. How was your tea? Fantastic pace to this one, the progressive gallop, the uncontainable, like a tea cup over flowing, flowing down until it fills the saucer, overflowing, running down the table cloth to fall between the cracks in the timber floorboards. Just to be..

    • Tea is always great,I cannot remember that I have ever in my life drank a tea that was bad πŸ˜€ I did have in my head the image from the Alice in Wonderland cartoon where the mad hatter is poruing tea in a cup with that teapot with 3 stouts πŸ˜€ Thank you for reading and I am very happy that you liked the poem.

  16. “and we are nothing but a
    little white rabbit
    and a mad hatter girl,
    putting cotton candy price tags
    on the world.” You know how a particular piece of music can have such a profound effect on you? These lines of yours feel so poignant to me, and cause a small tear to form in the corner of my eye. I’m never quite sure what any given poem actually means, to the poet or to the readers other than me, but I always trust my emotional reaction to it. These lines are full of magic, innocence and wistfulness. That is what I get from it and I am completely satisfied with that. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much for this comment! I agree that it is often a lot harder then it looks to figure out what exactly did the poet try to hide in his lines, but I like to strive and write completely opposite. I like to weave in emotion and hope it gets picked up. You captured and so to say inhaled that emotion quite well,which makes me very happy! πŸ™‚

  17. ;The charlatan
    is wearing a ball gown;
    marry my loss in scarlet.”

    Magnificent imagery Oloriel !
    This piece is shackle free.. dancing from one thought to the other and yet the seamlessness is never lost upon the reader!

    I wish someday my ink will be able to paint a splendid collage just like yours!
    Glad I discovered your writing. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much for your words, I am glad you enjoyed reading.It also makes me happy that the lack of shackles is noticable in the flow, that the river runs free, it is something that is really improtant for me to show and brings me joy when I manage.

  18. As usual, your phrasing is powerful. ‘Marry my loss in scarlet’ is a great line. Also I like it when you say ‘Someday the children will play hide and seek with our bones’. Great poem.

  19. holyshit ! this is sooo good – everything is so beautifully expressed ! loved it. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, I think recieving “holyshit” is among one of the best words you van hear regarding your writing,and I am not joking πŸ˜€

  20. oh very nice…this reads a bit like hip hop lyrics to me….really strong phraseology….sharing sin like cigs was an early line that grabbed me….that history line right after as well…really strong close on this, from love to a fairy tale or down the rabbit hole we go….

    • It can be read as hip hop lyrics indeed, but I like that, I like if more then one dimension can be attributed to something I write. It is like a rollercoaster this one, from clouds,to woods,to rabbit holes then back again:)

  21. I love the rhytm and the story here.. and the end really wraps it up well… cool

    • Thank you,I am glad you liked it and am glad to hear about the ending, because it is one of the images/sentences that got me to start this poem:)

  22. Woohoo! Liked it. Powerful verses and elegant presentation. Creativity at its best. πŸ™‚

  23. such rich images evoking a very twisting combination of emotions …lovely work in a very modern way. I actually saw rather large eyed, dark rings about her eyes, visions of Alice in wonderland…nice!

    • A very insomniac Alice!:D I could never completely associate myself with her, I truly am a mad hatter fan,tho I have t twist his gender when using him as a writing metaphore or image:) I hope this twisted ride left you feeling good and that the “I want to kiss a cloud right about now” side effects are not too strong πŸ˜€

  24. Filled with vivd images. Loved this especially: “the worm is in the apple
    carving tapestries
    with his little pointy teeth”

    • Thank you very much for reading and taking time to leave me a word of your own and I am glad you enjoyed what you read.
      I always like to give some seamingly unimportant things something wild,hence why the worms in my apples are always extra busy. I am happy to know you enjoyed that image:D

  25. Dramatic and eventful! Well worded in that innuendos become spurs, the sharp points the stick and scar.

  26. stunning, breathtaking!!!

  27. Beautifully crafted dark magic write here…every stanza filled with interesting lines, none more so than “the charlatan wears a ball gown”…there are many others…A treat to read!

    • Thank you for reading and taking time to write to me!That particular line is not completely defined to me even. I am glad you enjoyed reading!

  28. Oloriel, some wicked images in a brilliantly written poem. A tour de force.

    Pamela

Tell me something

 
We Ate'nt Ded

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

PiΕ‘em ono Ε‘to mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

