For Jeff Buckley

Image

http://www.last.fm/music/Jeff+Buckley/+images/57726041

For Jeff Buckley

You don’t have to remind me
of all the wine and pomegranate seeds
while courting the rue under your tongue
measured in the songs you sung
beneath the window,
her perfume a castle in the lungs,
Mr. Buckley we both weep
for girls who weren’t Persephone.

Your guitars in shallow, shallow graves,
the chords of lonely shoes that clatter
down the highway of perdition,
your voice a rendition of the incision,
love walks into the blue,
heart is the most cheap to prostitute,
Mr. Buckley, let us have a drink.

I remember it far too well,
I vowed not a single verse more
for the neck, for the eyes, for the floor
will dream like a coin for a wish
down an old abandoned well,
Mr. Buckley, I can hear you on the radio,
cried out tones of broken bone epitomes

Well, it’s 4 AM and the witches cast their spells,
I leave my organs under the table
and faces of lovers weave a whiskey fable;
give me a hollow, broken man
so I can give him the Moon.
I ride with you Mr. Buckley
and still eat love with sugar and teaspoons.

*For mindlovemisery’s fabulous prompt, I promised I will finish it! Again, this inspired a milion stuff of which I am sure you will hear about in the future. You can find the prompt here:

http://mindlovemisery.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/prompt-14-the-music-of/

~ by Oloriel on August 1, 2013.

52 Responses to “For Jeff Buckley”

  1. This is fantastic! There are so many great lines (the whole poem for example haha) I love “give me a hollow broken man” especially it really touched me. Your did Jeff proud!!!

  2. I love Jeff Buckley. This was wonderful.

  3. “Cried out tomes of broken epitomes” – What a gift for language you have, darling! This was fantastic! I, too, miss Jeff Buckley dearly. You may have missed this: http://helenahannbasquiat.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/lover-you-shouldve-come-over/

    • Thank you for pointing me in the missed direction. If he was alive I bet all of us girls would’ve fought to be his women who stayed.

  4. *broken bone epitomes — even better!

  5. This was beautiful—now I need to go start up my Jeff Buckley playlist again.

  6. i luv Jeff… i cant think of a better piece to honor him the way you have with this poem. πŸ™‚

  7. My dear friend, you are nominated for some very special prize on my blog. Check it out πŸ˜€ and no, this is not a spam-commentar … πŸ˜€

  8. Nominovana si http://enicaa.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/blog-spomenar/

  9. Cela je lepa, ali poslednja strofa je Ε‘lag na tortu. πŸ™‚

  10. Wonderful piece of writing! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Rahul

  11. As always, your poem is great. My favorite line is: her perfume a castle in the lungs. If there is any reader that doesn’t like that, he better stop calling himself a reader.

    But I’m curious about one thing. Like me, English is not your first language, right? How come your words and expressions are so rich, even richer than most poetry written by natives I’ve read so far in WP? I mean, you’ve read a million English books or the whole dictionary or what? :p

    • Thank you for your comment.
      And to answer your question, when I was 5 years old I learned english to a fluent level. I fell in love with it, the words, the accents the everything and also, nobody understood me. I come from a shit home where a word was charged with beating, but I could avoid that by speaking in a language they don’t understand. When hearing me talk English they would think I am merely singing a song or something. That salvation is something I will always owe to the English language.
      I speak english with my husband and son, I think in English, I write in English and yes, when younger I used to read dictionaries a lot, besides regular books of which I read tons of as well πŸ™‚

      • If you think in English, then nothing separates you from the natives. I can’t think in English. It will take too long for me to reach every conclusion :p

  12. All my neurons start firing excitedly when I read your poetry. The combinations of words and images you use are just brilliant. Reowr!

  13. Ah.. what a splendid read!

  14. how I wish I could find your words.

    • Just let them find you. Sometimes when I am writing, the words just come, I have no idea where from, it is something like “Why am I saying this?” πŸ™‚

  15. hej, evo jedne posvete Bakliju od ranije http://horheakimov.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/nocna-mora-pored-mora/ ali ti si to znala, ne?

  16. wonderful

  17. Speechless at such a marvellous tribute and characterisation.

  18. izabrana si za igru πŸ™‚

  19. Fabulous! I loved the entire poem…too many great lines to quote one πŸ™‚

  20. http://mojritamdana.wordpress.com/2013/08/03/blogeri-se-igraju-2/

  21. Exquisite.

  22. Now I finally know from where that name is πŸ™‚

Tell me something

 
Clacks Header

A massively unofficial fan site for Sir Terry Pratchett

Poet's Parlor

A poet is a nightingale, who sits in darkness and sings to cheer its own solitude with sweet sounds. Percy Bysshe Shelley

Nemirne misli se poigravaju s umom...

PiΕ‘em ono Ε‘to mi se mota po umu u trenutku kada naidje dama inspiracija

Ward Clever

Demons, Unicorns, and Cupid's Assassins

Pieced By HB

A Blog By Hudson Biko

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

Bradley K Palmer Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

