To the secret

Image

I wrote this for a prompt. I have been thinking about this very much and I have struggled to come to a conclusion: who is my poetry idol? The truth is, I don’t have any. I adore poets, many of them, that often come from different eras and have different styles. I respect them, admire them and they inspire me, but I do not idolize them. I was never amongs those who wished to adapt to a certain style or attempt a revival of a famous dead word with a writting of my own. My style is more writting in honor of the poets I love and I often find myself writting to their ghosts. Yet I was thinking who of the huge crowd that I adore and inspires me should I pick? I decided. I present to you the strenght and woe of A. E. Housman, reflecting, I hope, into my own words. His poetry for me has the beauty of simplicity, the aroma of heartbreak, I see it as a dance of a warrior of Love and youth. It saddens me a lot to see not many know of his work, so I am hoping this will entice someone to give his work a read aswell.

For the prompt, you can go here and participate aswell!

http://mindlovemisery.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/prompt-11-literary-idols/

To the secret

The sweet longevity that you employ
no longer can subdue me,
I wear my hat now like a sign of joy
I hide much better now how sorrow hued me.

My friends tell tales of how my name
still sounds on lips like I belong,
but I now anesthetized and tamed,
I sing more quiet now my grieving song.

I do take heed, I must inform
of feet that yearn new trembles,
Your face gets doused in chloroform
and dreams of you dismembered.

I do, I do, much better now
ingest the paradox,
something all the world must know
if my eye defies the hoax:

That while raged a fiery noon
You passed me on the street
and I relinquish in my tomb
that I’m still standing on my feet.

~ by Oloriel on July 9, 2013.

34 Responses to “To the secret”

  1. Having idols limits you to a certain type of poetry and you lose the diversity that you could have when expressing yourself. So yes, so good you dont have one! Thats why your poetry is so expressive and free and unique!

    • If all my favourite poets were still alive, I would not have been just their follower, I would have been their friend:) It is something like that, the way I see it πŸ™‚

      • And thats a good way to be! Im constantly amazed by your smartness, talent and the inner beauty that shines here in the waters of wordpress!

  2. This is beautiful! It flows so effortlessly and the rhyme scheme is wonderful. I like it a lot!

  3. “And since to look at things in bloom
    Fifty springs are little room,
    About the woodlands I will go
    To see the cherry hung with snow.”

    Thank you fro introducing me to A. E. Housman! He is delightfully wise, as are you.

  4. lovely πŸ™‚

  5. This is gorgeous I am embarrassed to say I haven’t heard of his work but after reading this I am inspired to seek him out. Wow!

  6. Beautiful!

  7. This is purely amazing, my friend. AMAZING!

  8. So good on so many levels!

  9. really very nicely done. you def capture the mood in this piece..i am unfamiliar with your poet, but i will correct that….the lips still sound the name as if i belong is a cool line and the repetition of still standing, as if to convince…smiles

    visiting from mindlovemisery

    • I am very happy that I helped you discover a truly great poet, I guarantee you will enjoy reading his work! Thank you very much for your visit and your words! πŸ™‚

  10. Ovo je jedan od momenata kada mi je uzasno zao sto mi je engleski jako los 😦

  11. You’ve enticed me to read more A. E. Housman. Grateful thanks.

  12. that 3rd stanza, such a lyrical representation of murder! surprising and gratifying write ~ M

  13. When referring to poetry idols I chose Poe because he was my first introduction to poetry. As a writer we must be true to self and speak with the tone and voice of our own pen. I have not read Housman before, so thank you for the introduction. I love your poem, especially the second stanza. You are very talented!

    • Thank you very much for your visit and your words. Dear Edgra was aswell one of my first oets to read, but I allready wrote stuff similar to this prompt for him, wanted to try something new πŸ™‚ I am glad this helped you discover Housman, you will not regret reading him,I assure you !:)

  14. The life of a secret you captured well. I am grateful you found me. This piece of poetry I liked very much, it was not simple or convoluted. And I, having love to write as a child, am very particular about poetry. I will look up Housman.

  15. I noticed that some of your writings are in Serbian πŸ™‚ Just wanted to say I am a huge fan of the Serb writer Milorad Pavic and his stories… Since you are talking about idols, just wanted to note him as my fiction writing idol. Also, I love how your language flows… very smoothly and intricately. Keep on writing. Will make sure to drop by more often ….

    • I am familiar with his work and I must tell you that I am very happy to read this. I defenatly think there are Serbian writers well worth a readers time which never get heard of and same I think happens to a lot of writers whose primary writing language is not English πŸ™‚
      Thank you very much for your visit and your words and I will be very content if you find something you like in this little corner of mine πŸ™‚

  16. I like that you wear a hat with joy….
    this has a wonderful flow…to which you are still standing on your feet
    I am not sure I am anymore…
    I hadn’t heard of him either…I don’t have idols or ones in particular I am drawn to
    if I can feel as I read, then I will look deeper…
    as for my writings, eclectic..comes to mind, I just write where my mind is and the whispers are blowing through …
    I really like this one…
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and a new poet for me to seek out
    Take Care…you Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Thank you very much for reading. I love your writing, in part because that eclectic feel you give me, the breeze and storm, the freedom, each time that I read.

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

