Benumbed

Image
http://favim.com/image/103969/

Benumbed

People, when they see me, say:
“Here comes the winter.
walking down the street.
Her eyes are blood and snow,
do not look.
Bar the windows shut,
tell the children to run home,
before the frost queen sucks
the marrow of their boon,
to keep herself warm.”

I can hear them whisper,
fearfully, into the air:
“It is winter passing by.
see the frosting in her hair!
Do not touch.
Hold hands and murmur,
chant the prayers to the Sun,
lest the ice nesting in her lungs
sprouts out like cursed pearls
to shackle us.”

“I have heard her breath
is the frozen ghost of the mountain,
a song of crooked notes
set out to eat our lushes!”
“Look how her skin is like porcelain,
our sky-roof, how vastly empty,
shivers in its silence;
Those are dead doves
spun into a dress!”
The townfolk preach
to their familiar miseries.

Mouth to mouth, the words stretch
into distant horizon lines;
“Here comes theΒ  boreal Lich
with her moonstone heart,
beating rhythm of the cold!”
“Look away, Look away!”
“Breathe into your arms, my brethren,
lest you want your garden to transpire
to a snowflake fairytale”
The artificial warmth contained
in little cages raised up high
as banners.

“There goes the Winter,
leaving our temple, defeated!”
Their creed echoes behind me
like a bonfire of clattering bones,
the music of a herd
on a water hole of stone,
un-met, the gift of loneliness,
rolls down my face,
a shard, carving it’s path
into the scar gallery,
falls down and shatters.

The image of me is just a mirage.
A chilblain before
the flickering cornea
of the world.

*Translation coming. I wrote this originaly on French, but was not planing to put that version up. However if anyone is interested in seeing that aswell, please do let me know. I am also interested in hearing what would my followers like to see me share, as in, is there any interest in reading my prose and book excrepts, that are usualy terribly long and time consuming πŸ™‚ I really aswell wish to thank you all sincerely for your visits and continuos support and willigness to step into my world and color it with your own, it means very much to me!

Obecani prevod:

Umrtvljena

Ljudi, kada me vide, kazu:
“Dolazi Zima,
hodajuci niz ulicu.
Njene ochi su krv i sneg,
ne gledaj.
Zamandali prozore,
reci deci da beze kuci.
pre nego sto kraljica mraza isisa
srz njihove blagodeti
da se ugreje.”

Cujem ih kako shapucu,
bojazljivo, u vazduh:
“To zima prolazi ovuda,
vidi inje u njenoj kosi!
Ne diraj.
Drzimo se za ruke i zamorimo,
mantrajmo molitve Suncu.
da ne bi led koji se gnezdi u njenim plucima
pustio klice poput ukletih bisera
da nas baci u lance.

“Cuo sam da je njen dah
smrznuti duh planine.
pesma uvrnutih nota,
u pohodu na nashu bujnost!”
“Vidi kako joj je koza poput porcelana,
nash nebeski krov, kako ogromno prazan,
drhti u svojoj tishini;
To su mrtve golubice
ispredene u haljinu!”
Propovedaju meshtani
svojim poznatim mizerijama.

Od usta do usta, rechi se rastezu,
u daleke linije horizonta:
“Evo stize severni Lich,
sa svojim srcem od mesechevog kamena,
koje kuca ritam hladnoce!”
“Skreni pogled, skreni pogled!”
“Dishite u svoje ruke, moja braco,
da vam se bashte ne bi pretvorile
u pahuljastu bajku.”
Veshtacka toplota sadrzana
u malim kavezima podignutim visoko,
kao barjaci.

“Tamo ide Zima,
napushta nash hram, pobedjena!”
“NJihova vera u ehu iza mene.
kao vatra od zvechavih kostiju,
muzika krda
na pojilu od kamenja,
ne-upoznat, dar usamljenosti
kotrlja se niz moje lice,
krhotina, rezbari svoj put
u galeriju oziljaka,
pada dole i razbija se.

Moja slika je samo fotomorgana.
Promrzlina pred
treperavom roznjachom
ovog sveta.

~ by Oloriel on June 18, 2013.

49 Responses to “Benumbed”

  1. Its beautiful

  2. dude, very nice πŸ™‚

  3. Nedostaje mi zima.

  4. I like the winter, although if anyone’s going to go running round the snow in their undies like that I can see why they might regret it.

  5. Beautiful, as always. Love the images of blood and snow, and mouth-to-mouth words stretching. So good, thank you.

  6. Want to play with me in the snow? I promise we`ll build castles and wont fight πŸ™‚

  7. so amazing are you!…and your sublime poetry too. ty for this Oloriel.

  8. fantastic!

    • I am very happy to see your name online again, friend! Hope you are feeling better and that everything is going in a good direction for you. If you ever need to talk or anything I can help with,I am here!

  9. what a beautiful sadness you have created…
    you gave a voice to Winter in Her thoughts of isolation and loneliness
    I enjoy Winter…it is when you see only yourself in the reflection of snow and ice, natural state unlike the reflection of a manmade mirror
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

    • Thank you very much for your comment. I love Winter aswell, I think it goes far deeper from the mere weather and colors, I think in a way I personify myself with her πŸ™‚ I am very glad you enjoyed reading. Best regards!

  10. this is outstanding…the progression, the sequencing,,,,hats off!

  11. This poem is extraordinarily clever and unique! πŸ™‚

  12. Malo si me rashladila ovim svojim slikama, Ε‘to i nije loΕ‘e obzirom na temperaturu πŸ™‚

  13. Simply spectacular!

  14. This is amazing!

    “The image of me is just a mirage.
    A chilblain before
    the flickering cornea
    of the world.”

    This was incredibly moving at the end tying all of your words together. I seemed to feel your words as I was reading. The image was perfect too!

  15. I love this poem, Oloriel. It is filled with vivid imagery. I would love to see the French version πŸ™‚ xox

    • I will post the French version up very soon πŸ™‚ Thank you very much for your kind comment and I am glad you enjoyed the imagery!

  16. Absolutely stunning.

    • Thank you very much for taking time to visit, read and leave me a word of your own. I am humbled by your words and I am glad you found enjoyment in reading my poem.

  17. Wow, jako , jako mi se svidja πŸ™‚

  18. Ohh winter frost maiden of beauty,
    porcelain skincold seraph of the sun.
    let the ignorant refrain from the sight of you for they shall never know the warmth of the heart that beats within these winter walls of your moon-shine paradise

  19. […] Benumbed (olorielmoonshadow.wordpress.com) […]

  20. You’re utterly brilliant, and so sweet. I love your poems!

  21. Fabulously vivid and lovely. πŸ™‚

Tell me something

 
Piece by Piece HB

Pieced Apart & Pieced Together. Piece by Piece.

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

eclecticismgunfight

Poetry by Shawn M. Young

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Insights from "Inside"

Sunshine on Razor Wire: perspectives from "inside"

My Peacock Books

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks!

Whisper and the Roar

A Feminist Literary Collective (& outlaw poets swearing)

samantha lucero

she writes stuff sometimes.

BKP Art

#painting #art #design #color #drawing #abstract #landscape #cityscape

Withering Ambience

A soliloquy by ~f.h.

Inklette

For the ink-hearted

